Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is one full-size cooking zone enough, or do you require two independently controlled baskets?
The exact C38-8W7-1 guide shows one 8-qt basket and a removable rack inside it; it offers one cooking plan at a time.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the listed nominal 8-quart capacity meet your minimum?
Chefman lists an 8-qt / 7.57-L basket. The manual cautions against crowding; this volume is not a serving count or a guarantee that every food fits in one layer.
Explore this need in the finder →Do digital, on-appliance controls suit you better than physical dials?
The exact U.S. guide shows a digital display, mode selector, adjustment knob and local Start/Stop controls.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want a dedicated Frozen cycle rather than assuming ordinary Air Fry behaves the same?
The exact seven-function guide names Frozen and starts its cycle at 200°F for five minutes before moving to the selected temperature. The six-function C38-8W-1 listing does not include Frozen.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need the documented low-temperature Dehydrate range?
The guide lists Dehydrate at 90–200°F; Air Fry begins at 350°F. The 90°F endpoint is not available as an Air Fry setting.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the listed 450°F maximum meet your high-end requirement?
The product page lists 450°F overall and the guide lists 450°F as the top endpoint for several modes. It does not support a 455°F requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the U.S. page’s 120-V listing sufficient, or do you require both 120 V and 60 Hz in the documentation?
The exact page lists 1700 W / 120 V, but the reviewed exact page and manual do not state 60 Hz.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require an explicit PFAS-free statement for all cooking surfaces?
The exact page calls the basket and rack nonstick, but the reviewed exact page and guide do not identify the formulation or say all food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free.
The Chefman Crispinator C38-8W7-1 is an eight-quart, single-basket air fryer with seven named functions, including a dedicated Frozen cycle. That extra mode is the meaningful difference from Chefman’s separate six-function C38-8W-1 listing; the two codes should not be treated as interchangeable color names. Both are still one-cavity appliances, not dual-zone machines.
Match the seven-function model code
The U.S. product page and Shopify variant data identify Concrete C38-8W7-1C-US1 and Midnight C38-8W7-1M-US1. The exact 28-page U.S. guide is headed C38-8W7-1-US-SERIES. Its documented modes are Air Fry, Broil, Bake, Frozen, Dehydrate, Reheat and Keep Warm. The separate six-function page uses C38-8W-1M-US1/C38-8W-1C-US1 and does not list Frozen. If the Frozen cycle is why you are choosing this fryer, verify the C38-8W7-1 code on the product box or receipt instead of relying on “Crispinator” alone.
What the Frozen mode actually does
Frozen is not simply a generic thaw setting. In the model-coded guide, it begins at 200°F for five minutes, then rises to the user-selected temperature. The mode’s stated range is 300–450°F, its default timer is 30 minutes, and the manual assigns it fan speed three with a flip reminder on runs of five minutes or longer. This progression can be useful when a frozen item needs a guided start rather than the ordinary Air Fry cycle. It still leaves you responsible for checking the food: the manual says to flip when prompted and verify doneness against current food-safety guidance. It does not promise identical timing for every frozen product or load.
For standard Air Fry, the guide lists 350–450°F and fan speed five by default. Broil is 425–450°F; Bake 300–450°F; Reheat 250–400°F; Keep Warm 170–275°F; Dehydrate 90–200°F. The listed 90°F floor belongs to Dehydrate, not Air Fry. Five fan speeds can be adjusted for some tasks; they are not five additional programs. The function selector, digital display, adjustment knob and Start/Stop controls are local rather than phone-based in the reviewed U.S. materials.
Capacity and cooking arrangement
Chefman lists one 8-quart (7.57 L) pull-out basket, with a rack that sits inside it. That is one cooking zone and one set of time and temperature at a time. It cannot cook a side and main dish at separately controlled settings or sync them to finish together. The guide cautions against crowding because airflow affects browning; its recipe suggestions include around 1½ pounds of fries and two pounds of tater tots, but those example loads are not a serving-count guarantee or a promise of one-layer fit for every ingredient.
A large window and interior light let you check food without opening the drawer. Shake and flip alerts are useful prompts, not a replacement for the adjustments a recipe needs. Removing the basket pauses the cycle and returning it resumes. The product page lists 1700 W / 120 V, an overall 90–450°F range, a 39-inch cord, dimensions of 10.91 × 11.97 × 14.41 inches and weight of 11.46 pounds. The specification text does not label the axes for those dimensions. The exact guide asks for a flat, heat-resistant counter with at least six inches of clearance above and behind; measure your setup rather than placing it in a tight cabinet cavity.
Cleaning and material information
The model guide says the cooled basket and rack are top-rack dishwasher-safe. It directs you to cool the appliance before removing the rack and to wipe the body rather than immerse it. The manual also warns against aerosol cooking spray on nonstick parts because it can chip the coating, and advises against abrasive cleaners. These care details matter for a basket whose rack is lifted from inside the same drawer rather than removed as a separate cooking zone.
The exact product page calls the basket and rack nonstick, but the reviewed page and model guide do not give a full coating formulation or an explicit all-contact-surface PFAS-free statement for the C38-8W7-1 SKUs. Do not borrow a disclosure tied to the similar C38-8W-1 model codes or infer chemistry from the finish. If surface chemistry is an essential condition, treat this model’s full-contact-surface status as unknown until Chefman confirms the exact SKU.
Is the extra function worth choosing?
Choose this version when Frozen is a mode you will actually use and its five-minute 200°F start is a useful operating distinction. If you do not need that programmed cycle, Chefman’s separately listed C38-8W-1 has six functions and otherwise presents a similar eight-quart, one-basket routine; compare its exact manual, finish SKU and material disclosure rather than assuming the two products have identical documentation. A dual-basket model is the better direction when two foods need independent settings, and a fryer with an explicitly documented 60-Hz specification is preferable if that electrical detail is mandatory.
Chefman describes the DC motor as powerful and says it supports faster, crispier results. That is manufacturer wording, not an independent time comparison. The page also says UL certified and a five-year assurance; the manual’s warranty terms have authorized-sale and proof-of-purchase conditions. The exact listing says 120 V but does not state 60 Hz. Exact-code SaferProducts queries returned empty arrays, which are not evidence of recall clearance; recall applicability remains unknown.
Bottom line
The C38-8W7-1 is a large single basket with an unusually specific Frozen cycle, not a dual-zone solution. Its 90°F minimum is a Dehydrate setting, while the frozen-food start is a five-minute 200°F stage inside a 300–450°F program. A viewing window and dishwasher-safe removable parts add practical convenience, but users still need to avoid crowding and follow prompts. Confirm both the exact seven-function SKU and any essential coating or electrical requirement before purchase.
Manufacturer sources
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Combined nominal capacity | 8 qt |
| Lowest documented setting | 90°F |
| Highest documented setting | 450°F |
| Cooking functions | The exact C38-8W7-1 guide names seven modes. Frozen begins with five minutes at 200°F and then changes to the selected 300–450°F setting. The distinct C38-8W-1 guide names six modes and does not include Frozen. |
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The exact product page calls the basket and rack nonstick, but the reviewed exact page and manual do not specify the coating formulation or say that all food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. Do not transfer the disclosure tied to separate C38-8W-1 SKU codes; material status for this model remains unknown. |
| Exact configuration note | The exact U.S. page and SKU payload identify two finish SKUs: C38-8W7-1C-US1 (Concrete) and C38-8W7-1M-US1 (Midnight). Both are the seven-function C38-8W7-1 series; Frozen is the material function difference from the distinct six-function C38-8W-1 listing. |
| See-through cooking window | Yes |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
| Listed power | 1700 W |
| Listed supply | 1700 W / 120 V as listed on the exact U.S. page; 60 Hz is not stated in the reviewed exact page or guide. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Chefman U.S. seven-function Crispinator product page; exact model series and published specifications
- Chefman Shopify product data; exact U.S. variant SKUs, current availability and page-assigned images
- Exact C38-8W7-1 U.S. user guide, 28 pages; cover identifies C38-8W7-1-US-SERIES
- Captured U.S. Chefman air-fryer collection; separate seven-function Crispinator row, parsed destination position 11
- Page-assigned Concrete image for C38-8W7-1C-US1; original visually inspected
- Page-assigned Midnight image for C38-8W7-1M-US1; original visually inspected
- Public SaferProducts exact-string recall query for C38-8W7-1M-US1; empty arrays do not establish clearance
- Public SaferProducts exact-string recall query for C38-8W7-1C-US1; empty arrays do not establish clearance
- Public SaferProducts exact-string recall query for C38-8W7-1; empty arrays do not establish clearance
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.
