Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would one nominal six-quart basket be enough, or do you require two separate drawers?
Chefman lists a nominal six-quart capacity and the exact model has one removable basket and one cooking zone; it cannot run two foods independently.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a clear, lit window into the basket while food cooks?
This exact black RJ38-6T-BLACK has an opaque drawer front and no basket light. It does not satisfy an essential window need.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the fryer sustain 450°F through a full cooking cycle?
The product page associates 450°F with HI-FRY, and the series guide separates a two-minute HI-FRY boost from normal Air Fry up to 400°F. Do not use the boost as evidence of sustained 450°F.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a documented Dehydrate cycle essential rather than merely a low listed temperature or food preset?
The exact page-linked manual is labeled RJ38-ZF-6T and the separate series guide lists different modes; the exact SKU-to-revision bridge is unresolved. Dedicated Dehydrate capability is therefore unknown and cannot pass an essential filter.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the manufacturer expressly confirm dishwasher-safe cleaning for the removable basket and rack?
The exact current U.S. product page identifies both the nonstick basket and rack as dishwasher-safe.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require an explicit PFAS-free statement for the exact food-contact surfaces?
Chefman’s grouped California AB-1200 disclosure names RJ38-6T and lists PTFE-coated pot/rack components. The inspected manufacturer sources do not establish PFAS-free contact surfaces.
Explore this need in the finder →Does 120 V suffice, or must the source also specify 60 Hz?
The exact product page states 1700 W / 120 V but does not state line frequency, so the stricter 120 V plus 60 Hz documentation need is unknown.
Explore this need in the finder →The Chefman TurboFry Touch RJ38-6T-BLACK is a nominal six-quart digital drawer fryer for cooks who want a familiar four-preset panel and a removable rack, but do not need a window or a second cooking zone. Its unusually important caveat is that the exact product page and Chefman’s model-series guides do not line up cleanly: treat the feature details as revision-sensitive, and do not assume the advertised 450°F HI-FRY is a normal full-cycle setting.
What the exact listing identifies
Chefman’s U.S. product page names the TurboFry Touch 6 Qt. Digital Air Fryer, model RJ38-6T-BLACK. Its product payload lists one black SKU. The page gives a nominal six-quart capacity, a 1700-watt, 120-volt supply, a listed weight of 11.07 pounds, and three dimensions in the order 15.6 × 11 × 11 inches without saying which is width, depth, or height. Use that sequence to check the counter rather than assigning axes the maker has not identified. The exact image shows one opaque pull-out basket and a digital panel; it is not the windowed RJ38-6TW Easy-View model.
A useful middle-size single drawer
Six quarts is a stated capacity, not a measured usable-food volume or a guarantee that a particular family meal fits in one layer. There is one removable basket, one rack and one cooking zone, so different temperatures or finish times mean separate batches. The maker describes the capacity as suitable for three to five people, but the manual warns against filling beyond the MAX line and explains that crowded food browns less evenly. That airflow limit matters more than the label when you cook bulky vegetables, thicker cuts, or a large quantity of frozen snacks. If two foods must run independently at once, choose a true dual-zone design; if your usual portions are small, the existing 4-quart Touch is easier to justify than buying capacity you will not use.
Presets, HI-FRY and a manual mismatch
The exact product page promotes four preset functions, a shake reminder and a separate 450°F HI-FRY feature. It lists 200–450°F overall and describes 450°F as HI-FRY. The user-guide download on that exact page, however, is a 24-page guide whose cover says RJ38-ZF-6T, not RJ38-6T-BLACK; it shows four food presets and manual time-and-temperature adjustment. Chefman’s U.S. document library separately lists an RJ38-6T-Series guide. That newer series guide describes Air Fry, Bake, Dry and Frozen modes, with HI-FRY at 450°F for two minutes, but it does not explicitly map the series guide to the black SKU. This is a real revision bridge, not a reason to silently combine every guide as if it were SKU-specific. The review therefore treats ordinary air frying and the advertised preset panel as established, but leaves dedicated Dehydrate capability and the exact full-cycle high setting unresolved for this SKU. Anyone who needs a named special mode should confirm the guide supplied with the exact unit before relying on it.
Daily handling and materials
The page says the basket and rack are dishwasher-safe and that the unit stops when the basket is removed or the timer ends. The guides describe the shake prompt as a reminder, not automatic turning: shake small pieces or flip larger foods when the recipe calls for it, then check doneness rather than treating preset time as a food-safety measure. Chefman’s current guide calls for at least six inches of clearance above and behind the appliance. Its California AB-1200 disclosure groups RJ38-6T with products whose listed pot/rack components include PTFE coating. That disclosure is not a complete finish-by-finish materials inventory, but it is enough that this model cannot be presented as having manufacturer-confirmed PFAS-free contact surfaces. The company does not publish a complete coating-layer map in the sources inspected. No independent cooking tests were performed for this review.
Who should compare it with something else?
Choose this model if the black opaque drawer, digital adjustment, nominal six-quart size and dishwasher-cleanable removable pieces match your routine. Compare the RJ38-6TW Easy-View if checking food through a lit window matters more than keeping the front opaque; compare a smaller 4-quart basket if storage space and modest batches are the priority. A model with two independently controlled zones is the more honest answer for separate mains and sides that need different schedules. The RJ38-6T’s maker-reported capacity and preset count are convenient planning clues, not a performance ranking, lab result or substitute for confirming the precise manual revision in the box.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Combined nominal capacity | 6 qt |
| Lowest documented setting | 200°F |
| Highest documented setting | 400°F |
| Cooking functions | Exact product page documents an Air Fry basket with four food-preset choices. The page-linked guide is labeled RJ38-ZF-6T, while the document library separately lists a 2025 RJ38-6T-Series guide with different operating modes; the exact SKU-to-guide-revision bridge is unresolved. Do not infer a dedicated Dehydrate/Frozen/Bake cycle unless the exact unit guide confirms it. |
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The grouped model-named disclosure lists PTFE-coated components. This is not a complete surface inventory and does not support a PFAS-free claim. |
| Exact configuration note | Exact current U.S. page and product payload identify the listed SKU(s). For RJ38-6TW, black and gray are finish-only variants supported by the same RJ38-6TW-Series U.S. guide; the gray SKU was out of stock on the checked date while black was listed in stock. |
| See-through cooking window | No |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
| Listed power | 1700 W |
| Listed supply | 1700 W / 120 V; line frequency is not stated in the inspected exact product page or U.S. series guide. |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.
