Model assessment · Chefman

Chefman TurboFry XL 9-Quart Air Fryer (RJ38-9TW-WM) review

A one-drawer, nominal 9-quart U.S. TurboFry XL with a viewing window, interior light and six named programs. The low Dry/Dehydrate setting is separate from the hotter Air Fry range.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Chefman TurboFry XL RJ38-9TW-WM with one large front window and a single six-program digital control panel
Exact-model manufacturer gallery image. Chefman does not disclose whether the studio image is a photograph or CGI/composite. Chefman U.S. exact product page gallery; single SKU RJ38-9TW-WM
A useful fit for

For a cook who wants one large nominal basket rather than two small drawers, and values a window, interior light, six individually ranged programs and a 90°F Dry setting.

The main tradeoff

It is one cooking zone, not a dual-basket machine. The guide does not state maximum timer limits for ordinary programs or identify the coating chemistry; the exact page/guide also leave dimensions, power rating, 60-Hz frequency and exact-model recall status unresolved.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would one continuous 9-quart nominal drawer fit your routine better than two separate baskets?

RJ38-9TW-WM has one physical 9-quart basket and one cooking zone; its nominal total is not divided between drawers.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a clear window and interior light help you check food without opening the drawer?

The exact page image and series guide show a front basket window and light control; checking does not replace shaking or turning when needed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a named Dry/Dehydrate program whose low endpoint is 90°F?

The RJ38-9TW-Series guide lists Dry (Dehydrate) at 90–200°F; Air Fry is a separate 300–450°F program.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a Broil program that reaches 450°F useful to you?

The guide lists Broil at 425–450°F, separate from the hotter Air Fry setting.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the guide confirm top-rack dishwasher cleaning for the basket and rack?

After cooling, the U.S. guide says the basket and rack are top-rack dishwasher-safe; it does not authorize dishwashing the housing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require the manufacturer to state PFAS-free status for every food-contact surface?

The series guide identifies nonstick parts but does not identify coating chemistry or make a complete PFAS-free statement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need the exact manufacturer documentation to state both 120 volts and 60 hertz?

The reviewed exact listing and series guide do not provide a voltage/frequency nameplate rating.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Chefman TurboFry XL 9-Quart Air Fryer, model RJ38-9TW-WM, is a one-drawer design with a front viewing window and six labeled cooking programs. Its 9-quart figure describes one nominal basket, not a pair of smaller drawers and not a measured amount of usable food space. Choose it if you want one large, viewable load and flexible program choices; consider a dual-basket machine if two foods need separate settings and coordinated finish times.

One large drawer, rather than two cooking zones

This model has a single pull-out basket and one control panel. The removable rack sits inside that basket to lift food above the bottom and leave room for air to move beneath it. That arrangement can suit a larger single batch, but it does not let you cook a main and side at different temperatures at the same time. The manual also advises staying below the MAX line and leaving space around food. A 9-quart label should not be treated as a promise that a packed basket will brown evenly or as a serving-count test.

If separate settings are your priority, compare the Chefman RJ38-45DBW: its nine-quart nominal total is divided between two 4.5-quart baskets, each with its own controls. That is a different way to use capacity, not a larger single cavity. The RJ38-9TW-WM keeps one continuous basket instead. The window and a small interior light let you check progress without sliding the drawer out, although you may still need to shake or turn food when the guide calls for it.

Six programs have different temperature ranges

The six choices on the panel are Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Frozen, Reheat and Dry (Dehydrate). They use different temperature and fan settings, so the overall 90–450°F span is not available in every program:

  • Air Fry: 300–450°F.
  • Bake: 200–400°F.
  • Broil: 425–450°F.
  • Frozen: the chosen setting is 300–400°F, with the first five minutes at 200°F.
  • Reheat: 300–425°F.
  • Dry (Dehydrate): 90–200°F.

The low 90°F endpoint belongs to Dry, not Air Fry; the 450°F upper endpoint is documented for Air Fry and Broil. The guide’s table lists default times for these programs, not the maximum timer limits for every mode, so it does not support assuming a particular long dehydration cycle. The Frozen program’s initial low-temperature stage is also distinct from simply beginning at the selected temperature. These details matter more than the number of menu labels if you have a specific recipe or low-temperature routine in mind.

Chefman says optional five-minute preheating may help with speed and crisping, but the guide does not make preheating a requirement. Shake reminders are a prompt for the cook, not automatic turning: for eligible cycles longer than five minutes the guide tells you to remove the drawer and shake or flip when appropriate. Returning the basket resumes cooking.

Check clearance and cleaning before choosing it

The user guide calls for a hard, flat surface and at least six inches of clearance above and behind the fryer for airflow. That instruction should be part of a counter-space decision, especially if you plan to keep it under a cabinet. Chefman’s reviewed product page and guide do not state an external dimension set or an electrical nameplate rating for this exact listing, so they do not establish whether a particular shelf or circuit is suitable.

After the appliance cools, the guide says the basket and rack may be washed on the dishwasher’s top rack. Wipe the housing rather than immersing or dishwashing it. The guide warns that aerosol cooking sprays can chip nonstick parts. It does not identify the basket substrate or coating chemistry, or make a complete PFAS-free statement for all food-contact surfaces. If those disclosures are essential, this model cannot satisfy that requirement from the available manufacturer statements; unknown is not a material claim.

Who should compare another TurboFry?

The RJ38-9TW-WM makes the most sense when you want one nominal 9-quart basket, a window, digital controls and named programs that include Broil and Dry. It is not the pick for independently timed zones, a rotisserie, a documented probe, or a verified footprint and electrical rating based on the reviewed maker materials. A viewing window is useful for checking but is not a substitute for leaving room around the food or following the manual’s shake guidance.

Do not confuse this SKU with the separate RJ38-9TW-V2 TurboFry 7-in-1 listing. Both are one-basket, nine-quart products, but they are distinct model identities with separate pages and series guides; the V2’s motor and specifications should not be transferred to the WM model. For an entirely different layout, the RJ38-45DBW provides two smaller controlled baskets. Read the RJ38-9TW-WM product page and the RJ38-9TW-Series U.S. user guide for the exact model family’s current listing and operating instructions.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity9 qt
Lowest documented setting90°F
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe official RJ38-9TW-Series guide labels six timed programs Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Frozen, Reheat and Dry (Dehydrate). Its table gives default times; the maximum timer for ordinary programs is not stated. Each selectable mode has its own range.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe guide calls basket/rack parts nonstick but does not identify basket substrate, coating chemistry or PFAS status for all food-contact surfaces.
See-through cooking windowYes
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.