Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart 9-qt Air Fryer AIR-220 review

A large single-basket fryer with a 10-by-12-inch cooking surface, removable divider, viewing window and light, six named modes including Broil and Dehydrate, and a 100–450°F product-page range. The divider partitions food but is not a second independently controlled zone.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart AIR-220 black single-basket air fryer with stainless control surround and viewing window
Exact-model manufacturer gallery image. Cuisinart does not disclose whether it is a photograph or CGI rendering. Cuisinart exact U.S. AIR-220 product-page gallery
A useful fit for

A household seeking one large 9-qt basket, window/light, a removable food divider, named Broil and Dehydrate modes, and a 100–450°F listed range, without requiring two independent cooking zones.

The main tradeoff

The 9-qt figure remains one basket and one shared program; its divider does not provide independent zones. The large body needs counter space. Basket substrate, PFAS-free claim and frequency are unknown; the Dehydrate mode has multi-hour instructions, so do not apply a single timer figure to all modes.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would one large basket with a removable divider be useful, without requiring separate controls?

The AIR-220 manual describes one basket and a divider that partitions foods; the panel uses one shared program.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need two physically separate drawers or independently set cooking zones?

AIR-220 has one basket and one zone. Its divider is a partition, not a second controlled cooking area.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does your recipe or drying plan need a named Dehydrate mode and a 100°F minimum setting?

The exact AIR-220 page and booklet name Dehydrate and page-level specs list a 100–450°F range; the booklet includes multi-hour drying charts.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the maker explicitly state PFAS-free food-contact surfaces?

AIR-220 is described as ceramic nonstick, but its exact page does not make the AIR-160NAS-style no-intentionally-added-PFAS statement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart AIR-220 is a 9-quart pull-out basket fryer with one wide cooking area and a removable divider for partitioning foods. The divider is a physical separator, not a second independently programmed zone: this is still one basket with one selected program. That distinction matters if you want two different temperatures or cooking times to finish together. The AIR-220 instead suits a shopper who wants one larger basket, a divider to keep foods apart, a viewing window and a broader mode list that includes Broil and Dehydrate.

A large single basket, not dual drawers

Cuisinart lists a 10-by-12-inch cooking surface inside the 9-quart basket. The divided space can organize a meal, but the manual does not describe separate controls for the two sides. If independent settings or separate finished dishes are essential, the ADZ-085 or ADZ-110 is a different format, with two removable baskets and synchronization controls. If you want one large continuous basket, the AIR-220 divider can be removed; if you want foods physically partitioned while using the same cooking program, install it. Neither arrangement turns the AIR-220 into a dual-zone appliance.

Capacity is useful as a starting point, not a servings guarantee. The maker's 10-by-12-inch surface and manual chart help you judge whether common foods fit, but the instruction booklet recommends a single layer and smaller batches when foods overlap or are undercooked. The removable basket pauses cooking when opened. A viewing window and light can help you check progress without pulling it out, while the optional toss reminder is still relevant for foods the manual says to turn or toss. The listed body measures 18 by 14.85 by 12.78 inches and weighs 17.6 pounds, so check both counter depth and storage before choosing it over a smaller one-zone drawer.

More functions, more space to plan around

The exact product page and linked AIR-220 booklet list six functions: Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Dehydrate and Keep Warm. The panel also has six air-fry presets for fries, wings, nuggets, frozen snacks, vegetables and leftovers. The product-page temperature range is 100°F to 450°F. That documented low end and named Dehydrate setting may matter if you plan low-temperature drying, while 450°F is a useful distinction from the 400°F-capped AIR-160NAS. Still, the 9-quart rating does not mean the drawer is physically separated into two separately controlled programs.

Bake and Broil use a preheat sequence described in the manual. The page lists an up-to-60-minute timer with automatic keep-warm, but the booklet also provides multi-hour dehydration guidance; it is safer not to generalize one timer figure to every function. For baking, the manual recommends a suitable heat-safe pan, which is not included. Cuisinart lists 1800 watts and a three-year limited warranty. The manual warranty language specifies use with 120-volt outlets; the inspected materials do not state 60 Hz. If both voltage and frequency documentation are an essential constraint, the available statement is incomplete.

Care and material limits

Cuisinart describes a ceramic nonstick coating and says the basket and crisper plate are dishwasher-safe. The exact product page and booklet do not make the same explicit “no intentionally added PFAS” statement shown on the AIR-160NAS page. Treat that as unknown, not as proof of either presence or absence. The removable pieces can also be hand-washed after they cool, using the booklet's suggested nonabrasive nylon brush or pad. Unplug the appliance first, keep the housing dry, and avoid abrasive cleaners.

The booklet recommends a stable heat-resistant surface and two to four inches of clearance from nearby objects, with no items stored on top while it operates. These are important space requirements for a wider, heavier drawer that must be pulled out for loading. Cuisinart's page says the basket pauses cooking when removed; it also cautions that the cooking area should not be crowded. The window can reduce unnecessary checks, but it cannot compensate for stacking food or guarantee an evenly browned batch.

Which Cuisinart is the better fit?

The AIR-220 is the more spacious and feature-rich one-basket option compared with AIR-160NAS: it adds 4.5 quarts of nominal capacity, a removable divider, Dehydrate and Broil modes, and a 450°F listed maximum. It is also larger and roughly twice the listed weight. AIR-160NAS is a more compact choice with the explicit PFAS disclosure, window, light and dishwasher-safe basket, but its maximum setting is 400°F and its page does not document a divider. The 8-quart AIR-210 is another comparison point: more capacity than the AIR-160NAS, but its booklet and exact page do not establish a window, Dehydrate or Broil.

For two meals with independently selected settings, look at Cuisinart's two-basket models rather than buying the AIR-220 on the strength of its divider. For a single wider cooking area and the six named functions, the AIR-220 offers a distinct operating plan. Confirm the model code on the product label and check the required dimensions, cleaning rule and temperature range against your own constraints; this review summarizes manufacturer material and does not report personal cooking tests.

Sources: Cuisinart AIR-220 product page and its AIR-220 instruction and recipe booklet.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity9 qt
Lowest documented setting100°F
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe exact product page and linked AIR-220 booklet identify six modes. Dehydrate guidance includes multi-hour processes; the page’s up-to-60-minute timer phrase is not generalized across every function.
Basket and crisper-plate materialCeramic nonstick is stated; underlying substrate and explicit PFAS-free status are not.
Exact configuration noteExact model AIR-220, black finish, one large basket, removable food divider, window/light. Page lists 18 x 14.85 x 12.78 in, 17.6 lb, 1800 W and a three-year limited warranty.
See-through cooking windowYes
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1800 W
Listed supplyThe exact linked manual warranty language says designed only for 120-volt outlets; frequency is not stated.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.