Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Compact Air Fryer Toaster Oven review

A compact, stainless-style door-front oven with one cooking cavity, three physical dials, a separate Air Fry basket insert and a 2.5-pound manufacturer air-fry load claim.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart TOA-26 compact door-front air-fryer toaster oven with a glass viewing window, three physical dials and a basket arranged above its pan
Exact-model manufacturer product-page gallery image. The visible window, three dials and pan/basket arrangement correspond to the TOA-26 listing; Cuisinart does not identify photography versus CGI status. Cuisinart U.S. exact TOA-26 product-page gallery
A useful fit for

For someone who wants a compact door-front countertop oven with an Air Fry basket and familiar toast, bake, broil and pizza modes rather than a pull-out fryer drawer.

The main tradeoff

It has one cavity and one setting at a time, not separately controlled zones. The maker's 2.5 lb claim is not a quart rating; accessories require hand washing, and the exact numeric minimum temperature and oven timer range are not stated.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would you rather load a door-front cavity than pull out a fryer drawer?

The TOA-26 uses one oven cavity with a removable basket insert; it is not a drawer-style basket appliance.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a named Pizza setting useful?

Cuisinart lists Pizza as one of six selectable functions and the booklet gives separate fresh- and frozen-pizza guidance.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do physical dials suit your routine?

The exact product image shows separate oven-function, temperature and toast-shade dials.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the air-fry basket be dishwasher-safe?

The linked booklet says accessories are not dishwasher-safe; hand washing is the supported care plan.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need an independently controlled second zone?

This configuration has one cavity and one selected function at a time; multiple rack positions or accessories do not create a second zone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a numeric oven timer or a documented low temperature?

The booklet names a toast-shade timer but no numerical oven-cycle range or exact Warm temperature; unknown limits do not satisfy a hard requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart TOA-26 is a small door-front oven for a kitchen that wants an air-fry basket alongside familiar toast, bake, broil and pizza functions. It is not a pull-out basket fryer: you open the glass door, place the supplied mesh basket inside the cavity, and choose one mode at a time. That distinction matters if you want to cook two dishes at different temperatures or prefer the quick scoop-and-shake routine of a drawer appliance.

A compact oven layout with a separate air-fry insert

Cuisinart lists an Air Fry load of up to 2.5 pounds, plus a basket, baking/drip tray, oven rack and crumb tray. Treat the load figure as a manufacturer limit rather than a promise that a full load will brown evenly. The booklet recommends using the basket nested in the pan for Air Fry and Broil. It advises spreading food in a single layer and turning larger pieces or tossing fuller loads partway through. Those instructions suggest that the practical work surface, not just the stated weight, affects how much food can be cooked in one batch.

The product page does not give a cubic-foot cavity volume or a nominal quart rating. A 2.5-pound food-load claim cannot be converted into basket quarts, and the listed exterior measurements—11.5 inches long by 12.5 inches wide by 11.5 inches high—do not establish how much usable room is inside. Check your own pan, bread and counter dimensions rather than treating those outer numbers as a fit guarantee. Cuisinart prints the weight simply as “15,” without a unit; it is not safe to call that 15 pounds.

Pizza is a useful difference from the older TOA-28

The six functions on the TOA-26 page are Convection Bake, Convection Broil, Air Fry, Toast, Pizza and Warm. The TOA-28 page names Bagel instead of Pizza. If a dedicated pizza setting is part of your routine, the TOA-26 is the more relevant compact model; if bagel halves matter more, the TOA-28 is the model to compare, but it is discontinued and its exact instruction booklet is not verified here. The TOA-26 manual gives separate fresh- and frozen-pizza guidance and recommends about five minutes of preheating for delicate baked goods and broiling. Those are the manufacturer's instructions, not independent cooking tests.

Three separate dials set the oven function, temperature and toast shade. Toast uses Light, Medium or Dark, while other modes are started by choosing a function and temperature. The booklet says to turn the AirFry Oven dial to OFF when food is ready; it does not publish a numeric oven-timer limit for air frying or baking. The separate toast-shade control is a timer, not proof of a general 60-minute cooking timer. The lowest numeric temperature is also not stated: “Warm” is a named setting, but a specific degree value is unknown.

Plan around hand washing and the hot exterior

The booklet says the accessories are not dishwasher-safe and should be washed by hand. It calls the cavity interior nonstick, but does not identify the basket's metal or coating chemistry. If dishwasher cleaning, a specific basket material or a documented PFAS-free contact surface is essential, this model does not meet that evidence requirement. Do not confuse the nonstick-interior statement with a material claim about every removable part.

Setup deserves a little attention. Cuisinart asks for two to four inches between the oven and nearby walls or counter objects, warns that the exterior walls get very hot and prohibits using it beneath a wall cabinet or inside an appliance garage. The manual also says not to leave the oven unattended and not to cover the crumb tray with foil. A window helps you check browning, but it does not remove the need to follow the manual's turning and single-layer guidance.

Who should compare it—and what to choose instead

Choose the TOA-26 for a compact oven-first routine: a door, rack, basket insert and a dedicated Pizza setting in a stainless-style body. Its three-year limited warranty is listed on the exact Cuisinart page, though this does not predict longevity or describe coverage for a used machine. If you need dual independently set zones, a true pull-out basket, a confirmed low-temperature program, or a numerical long-cycle timer, look for a model whose exact manual states those capabilities. Cuisinart's TOA-70NAS adds a named Grill mode and a reversible grill/griddle plate, while basket-style models offer drawer access instead of this oven arrangement.

The TOA-26 is the current compact reference in this comparison, while TOA-28 is an earlier model that Cuisinart lists as discontinued and out of stock. Availability can change, so this assessment does not make a stock or price claim. Check the exact model marking and the supplied accessories before choosing a retailer package. Read Cuisinart's TOA-26 product page and its linked instruction booklet for the listing and operating directions.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units0
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Connected app controlsNo
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe six function names are transcribed from the exact product page. The manual names the oven-dial settings Warm, AirFry, Broil, Bake and Pizza, with a separate Toast shade dial.
Basket and crisper-plate materialCuisinart describes the oven interior as nonstick in the booklet; the exact basket and pan material/coating are not mapped in the inspected sources. No blanket PFAS-free contact-surface claim is made.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.