Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Compact Air Fryer Toaster Oven (TOA-28) review

A discontinued compact door-front oven with a removable air-fry basket, four physical dials visible in the exact manufacturer image, six listed cooking functions and a 60-minute timer.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart TOA-28 compact stainless-style air-fryer toaster oven with one glass-window cavity, four physical dials and a basket above a pan
Exact-model manufacturer gallery image. The four dials and single oven cavity are visible; Cuisinart does not label the image as a photograph or CGI rendering. Cuisinart U.S. exact discontinued TOA-28 product-page gallery
A useful fit for

An earlier-model comparison for someone who values a compact oven form, bagel and toast functions, and the manufacturer's published 60-minute timer more than current availability or independently controlled baskets.

The main tradeoff

Cuisinart marks this exact page discontinued and out of stock. It has one cooking cavity, not a drawer fryer or second zone. A copy of the exact-code booklet says to hand-wash accessories and leave 2–4 inches around the oven; it prints a historical three-year limited warranty, not a promise of coverage on a used unit. The original manual file, basket coating, power rating and numeric lowest temperature remain unconfirmed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would you use a door-front oven instead of a pull-out basket fryer?

The exact image shows a door-front oven with a removable Air Fry basket insert, not a pull-out appliance drawer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are bagels more important than a pizza program?

The TOA-28 page lists Bagel but not Pizza; its sibling TOA-26 page lists Pizza instead of Bagel.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a documented 60-minute timer?

The exact TOA-28 product page lists a 60-minute timer; it does not give a per-mode schedule in that listing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require a dishwasher-safe basket?

The exact-code booklet copy says the accessories are not dishwasher-safe and should be hand-washed, so the TOA-28 does not meet a dishwasher-safe requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need two independent cooking zones?

The visible product form has one oven cavity and one selected program; independent zones are not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are you shopping only current-reference models?

Cuisinart labels the exact TOA-28 product page Discontinued and Out Of Stock, so it is an earlier opt-in reference only.

Explore this need in the finder →

The discontinued Cuisinart TOA-28 is an earlier compact oven-style air fryer, not a pull-out basket appliance. It combines a small door-front cavity, a removable AirFry basket and toaster-oven functions. Cuisinart's exact page calls out a 2.5-pound air-fry load, four slices of toast or bagel halves, and a chicken up to three pounds. Those are useful maker examples, but they are not an independent test of a crowded batch or a nominal quart rating.

Bagel instead of pizza, plus a published 60-minute timer

The TOA-28 page lists Convection Bake, Convection Broil, AirFry, Toast, Bagel and Warm. Its sibling TOA-26 page lists Pizza in place of Bagel and does not state a numeric oven-timer range. The TOA-28's product page explicitly names a 60-minute timer and a separate Light/Medium/Dark toast-shade timer. If timed oven operation and bagel halves fit your routine, that published distinction is more useful than a generic count of “six functions.” The listing does not explain the timer's operation mode by mode, so do not treat it as evidence for a longer unattended cook.

The exact product image shows a stainless-style door-front oven with one cavity and four physical dials. It also shows the removable basket and pan inside, not a drawer that can be shaken outside the appliance. Cuisinart describes one Air Fry program and single-cavity oven functions; the visible rack and basket arrangement does not provide two independently controlled zones. If you need two foods to cook at different settings and finish together, select a true dual-zone configuration rather than counting accessories or rack positions.

Measure the outside and keep the inside expectations modest

The manufacturer gives outside dimensions of 12.5 inches long by 15.5 inches wide by 11.5 inches high, and a 17.5 weight value without a unit. The review keeps the listed order and does not turn “17.5” into pounds. Cuisinart does not publish a cubic-foot cavity figure or nominal basket-quart capacity for the TOA-28. The 2.5-pound air-fry claim and a three-pound chicken example describe different food-fit guidance; neither supplies a standardized basket-volume rating. Measure your counter and check the actual model before relying on the published outer dimensions.

The listed package includes an AirFry basket, baking pan, wire rack and crumb tray. A copy of the exact-code TOA-28 instruction booklet says those accessories are hand-wash only, recommends keeping 2–4 inches from walls or countertop objects, and warns that the exterior walls become hot; it also says not to operate below wall cabinets or in an appliance garage. Measure the usable counter and ventilation space, not only the printed outside dimensions. That booklet copy prints a limited three-year U.S./Canada warranty, but its historical term is not evidence of remaining coverage on a used or discontinued unit. The product page still does not give a numeric Warm minimum, rated wattage, or electrical frequency; its manual index has additional unseen pages, so don't borrow a nearby TOA model's numbers.

Use it as an earlier-model reference, not a current-stock pick

Cuisinart marks the exact TOA-28 page both Discontinued and Out Of Stock. That makes it relevant for used-appliance comparisons and support-part identification, but not a current buying endorsement. A secondhand example needs its full model label, included accessories and condition checked; the archived product-page list does not confirm today's seller availability, price, warranty coverage or the state of a particular unit. The manual copy is useful for setup and cleaning guidance, but the supplied booklet or manufacturer support should take precedence if it differs.

Compare the TOA-28 with the newer-listed TOA-26 if a Pizza program and a directly linked manual matter more than a 60-minute timer listing and Bagel setting. The larger TOA-70NAS adds a reversible grill/griddle plate and named Grill mode, but it remains a single-cavity oven. If you want a drawer you can pull out and shake, or two independent cooking zones, a basket-style air fryer is a better form factor. The TOA-28's dated status and documentation gaps make exact identification especially important: keep the model code with the appliance and do not assume TOA-series parts, functions or manuals interchange. See Cuisinart's exact TOA-28 listing for its published specifications; the page identifies it as discontinued and out of stock.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units0
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Connected app controlsNo
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsSix named functions are transcribed from the exact Cuisinart product page. Exact manual-specific ranges and operating instructions are not inferred.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe exact TOA-28 product page does not provide a complete material/coating map for the basket or accessories.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketNo
Listed supply120 V (frequency not stated in the inspected booklet copy)
Manufacturer-listed oven timer maximum60 min

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.