Model assessment · Instant Pot

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 4QT Air Fryer review

A single-basket 4-quart Vortex Plus with local digital controls, a page-stated 95–400°F range, and six functions named in its detailed feature list.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

Exact U.S. manufacturer listing for Vortex Plus 4QT Air Fryer, SKU 140-3079-01.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 4QT air fryer, SKU 140-3079-01, silver single-basket unit pictured in a kitchen scene.

A single-basket 4QT Vortex Plus with local digital controls and a central dial.

Image source and model notes
The Vortex Plus 4QT, SKU 140-3079-01, shown with its single silver basket and front control dial. Instant Pot U.S. product gallery for Vortex Plus 4QT Air Fryer, SKU 140-3079-01
A useful fit for

Best for a smaller-batch routine that wants one nominal 4-qt basket, a page-stated 95–400°F range, six detailed-list functions including Broil and Dehydrate, and dishwasher-confirmed basket care, without a ClearCook window or independent second zone.

The main tradeoff

The four-quart capacity is nominal and all cooking uses one shared schedule. A four-versus-six-function inconsistency, ambiguous touchscreen wording, missing timer endpoints, dimensions without units, and unknown electrical rating make the exact 140-3079-01 directions and package worth checking; do not infer features from another Vortex model.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is one four-quart cooking area enough for your usual batches, or do you need independent baskets?

The exact 140-3079-01 page lists a 4.0-quart basket and up to four servings, but those servings are manufacturer guidance. The single pull-out basket has one cooking area; two separate baskets are not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would Broil or Dehydrate as a named function fill a real need?

The detailed exact-product feature list and its SKU-linked control panel name both modes. Another paragraph on the same page lists only four functions, so verify the exact 140-3079-01 panel or instructions before either extra mode is a deal-breaker.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a clear view through the basket while food cooks?

The exact page does not list a ClearCook window and the product-associated front view shows an opaque basket. It does not meet an essential window requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would dishwasher-confirmed basket care change your choice?

The exact FAQ says the removable air-fryer basket is top-rack dishwasher-safe; it does not extend that statement to the outer body or every possible accessory.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do two different schedules need to finish together, or is one shared cooking area enough?

One 4QT basket has one cooking zone; the exact listing does not describe two independently controlled areas or SyncFinish.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the published 400°F ceiling reach your recipe requirement?

The exact product page states 95–400°F, without mode-specific endpoints. A hard minimum above 400°F is not supported.

Explore this need in the finder →

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 4QT Air Fryer (140-3079-01)

The Vortex Plus 4QT is a compact, single-drawer air fryer for cooks who want one cooking area rather than a pair of independently timed baskets. Instant Pot lists a 4.0-quart capacity and says it can serve up to four; treat that as the maker’s portion guidance, not a measured promise for bulky foods or a whole meal. Its 4-quart size is useful when a six- or nine-quart appliance would be more counter than you need, but it cannot create room by splitting food across two zones.

One basket, one cooking schedule

SKU 140-3079-01 uses one pull-out basket and one cooking area. That makes the finder’s “one basket” and “single cooking area” answers the accurate choices. It is not a dual-drawer fryer, and the product page does not describe SyncCook or SyncFinish. You can cook one food or combine compatible items in the same load, but foods with different temperatures or finish times need separate batches or your own timing plan. If two separately controlled loads are essential, compare a dual-basket model; if you want one wide drawer that divides, the Vortex 9QT with VersaZone is a different configuration.

Six modes are listed, but the page copy conflicts

The detailed feature list names Air Fry, Bake, Roast, Broil, Dehydrate, and Reheat, and the SKU-linked control image shows those mode labels. Those are the six functions I use to describe the product. A separate paragraph on the same manufacturer page calls it four-function and names only Air Fry, Bake, Roast, and Reheat. The inconsistency matters if Broil or Dehydrate is the reason you are buying: check the current 140-3079-01 control panel and instructions before relying on either extra mode as a must-have. Grill is not among the six named functions.

The page states an adjustable range of 95–400°F (35–205°C), which gives more room at the low end than models whose published minimum is higher. It does not provide timer limits or mode-by-mode temperature limits in the captured specifications. The high setting is not above 400°F, so choose another appliance if your recipe absolutely requires a higher documented endpoint. Instant Pot also markets EvenCrisp as using 95% less oil than traditional deep frying; that is a manufacturer comparison, not an independent result or a reason to expect every food to brown the same way.

Local controls, not a reason to assume a smart appliance

The listing calls the controls an intuitive touchscreen, while its exact product image shows a front digital display, several labeled buttons, and a central rotary dial. The safe expectation is local digital operation; I would not assume app control, remote monitoring, or a particular touch interface from the page alone. The “one-touch” language is a convenience description, not a substitute for checking the directions when you need a particular temperature and time.

There is also a preheating caveat. The sales copy emphasizes little or no preheating, but the product FAQ recommends preheating most foods for roughly five minutes or less and specifically calls it out when using a baking dish. Plan around the recipe and the supplied instructions rather than treating “no preheat” as a rule for every load.

Check the fit and care details before choosing

Instant Pot lists a nonstick basket and confirms that the basket is top-rack dishwasher-safe. That is a practical cleanup advantage, but the page does not identify the coating chemistry or provide a broader PFAS-free claim. It also does not give a complete package inventory, so do not assume an extra rack, pan, or specialized accessory comes in the box without checking the exact retail package. The published safety features include overheat protection and automatic shutoff; no certification is stated in the captured specifications.

The product page reports a width of 10.1, height of 11.0, and length of 13.1 under its “L x W x HT” size string, but does not state units in that section. Those numbers are not enough to settle a tight-cabinet fit. Confirm a current dimension label, account for room to pull out the basket, and check the outlet against the exact electrical rating before purchase; the captured page does not state watts or voltage. A one-year limited warranty is listed for authorized-retailer purchases, subject to the maker’s terms.

Who should choose it—and what to compare

This Vortex Plus makes the most sense for a smaller household or snack-focused routine that wants a four-quart basket, an adjustable 95–400°F range, and the named Broil or Dehydrate options without a larger footprint. Its strongest questionnaire matches are one basket, a single cooking area, dishwasher-confirmed basket care, and no essential viewing window or synchronized finish. Its ceiling is equally clear: it is still one load at a time, has no confirmed basket window, and does not document temperatures above 400°F or an extended timer range.

If a viewing window matters more than the Vortex Plus name, compare the Instant Pot Vortex Mini 4QT, whose exact U.S. pages list ClearCook and a four-quart basket. If you regularly make larger batches, the standard Vortex 6QT is a single-basket alternative with more nominal capacity but a different, shorter list of named modes. For two foods on different schedules, compare the Vortex Plus Dual 8QT or the VersaZone 9QT on their exact drawer and zone layouts; neither should be treated as a larger version of this single-zone 4QT. The right choice depends on whether compact size, a window, more basket room, or independent cooking plans is your actual non-negotiable.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity4 qt
Lowest documented setting95°F
Highest documented setting400°F
Cooking functionsThe exact product page's detailed six-function list names Air Fry, Bake, Roast, Broil, Dehydrate and Reheat; its control image labels the same modes. A separate paragraph calls the product four-function and lists Air Fry, Bake, Roast and Reheat. Broil and Dehydrate are based on the detailed feature list and exact SKU-linked panel; disclose the page's inconsistency when either mode is essential. Grill is not in the six named modes.
More specifications and setup details
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.