On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is one 5.3-quart basket and one schedule enough for your cooking routine?
Instant Pot lists 5.3 qt and up to five servings, with a single drawer in the exact SKU image. It does not document a second cooking zone or sync finish.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a named drying function or another specialist mode?
Dehydrate is one of the four listed functions; Broil, Grill and Proof are not among the exact listing’s four functions.
Explore this need in the finder →Would a window and internal light help you check food progress?
The exact product page names the ClearCook window and says an internal light helps view the food.
Explore this need in the finder →Is dishwasher confirmation for the main basket important?
The exact listing describes its ceramic-coated nonstick air-fryer basket as dishwasher-safe; it does not confirm every accessory.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need published temperature and timer limits before deciding?
The public product listing does not give min/max temperature or the cooking-timer range. Leave advanced numerical requirements blank unless a documented range is available for the exact SKU.
Explore this need in the finder →Does your outlet need a stated U.S. voltage and frequency?
The exact product page lists 1500 W, 120 V, 60 Hz, and UL & ULC listing.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you prefer a digital control panel over physical analogue dials?
The exact SKU-linked product image shows a digital mode/display panel; touch-sensitive operation is not specified.
Explore this need in the finder →Instant Pot Vortex Plus 5.3QT Truffle Air Fryer (140-3220-01)
The Instant Pot Vortex Plus 140-3220-01 is a single-drawer air fryer in a Target-exclusive Truffle finish. Its exact U.S. product page lists a 5.3-quart basket, four cooking functions, ClearCook visibility and OdorErase air filters. That combination makes it a plausible fit for a smaller household that wants to watch food through the window and use a few familiar presets without dedicating counter space to a dual-basket machine.
What the 5.3-quart figure means
Instant Pot describes the capacity as 5.3 quarts and says it can serve up to five. Treat both as the maker’s nominal guidance, not a guarantee that a particular meal or food shape will fit in one layer. A modest batch of vegetables, a few pieces of chicken and bulky frozen snacks make different use of the same drawer. If your routine depends on keeping separate foods apart or running different times at once, this one-drawer layout is the wrong starting point regardless of its serving estimate.
Capacity is also the clearest tradeoff against the reviewed Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT SKU 140-3089-01. That related model lists six quarts and six functions, including Roast and Broil; the Truffle 140-3220-01 lists 5.3 quarts and four. Those are concrete page-listed differences, not a claim that either will cook a given meal better. Choose the larger sibling if the extra nominal room or those named modes matter more than this finish.
Four functions, with a window
The manufacturer names Air Fry, Bake, Dehydrate and Reheat for this exact SKU, along with four customizable presets. A saved preset may suit a household that repeatedly uses the same settings, but the public listing does not explain the temperature and timer ranges or how each preset is changed. Dehydrate is specifically named, so shoppers seeking that function have positive confirmation; Broil, Grill and a dedicated proofing mode are not on this page’s four-function list.
ClearCook is a large window in the drawer, and the exact listing says a bright internal light helps you follow progress without opening it. That is useful when visual checks are part of your routine, but it does not establish that food never needs shaking, turning or a temperature check. The maker also describes EvenCrisp technology and claims up to 95% less oil than traditional deep frying. That is a manufacturer comparison, not an independently measured result for this review.
OdorErase is another maker-described feature: built-in air filters are intended to remove cooking odors. It may be attractive for a kitchen where lingering smells matter, but the product page does not give a filter replacement interval or a maintenance schedule. Do not count on it as a substitute for ventilation or assume the filter is maintenance-free.
Cleanup and surface questions
The page identifies a dishwasher-safe, ceramic-coated nonstick basket. That is useful if you specifically want the basket cleaning method confirmed by the manufacturer. It does not establish that every included or optional part is dishwasher-safe; the page does not enumerate the full package contents. It also does not state the coating’s complete chemistry or make a PFAS-free claim. If that material disclosure is an essential condition, the available specification is not enough to clear it.
Electrical fit and practical limits
The listed electrical rating is 1,500 watts at 120 volts and 60 hertz; Instant Pot also says the appliance is UL and ULC listed and includes overheat protection and automatic shutoff. The page shows a digital front panel and gives a one-year limited warranty. Those details can help with outlet and warranty expectations, but dimensions, weight and clearance requirements are not stated in the product listing. Measure the intended shelf and check the supplied instructions before committing to a tight cabinet space.
The exact product page does not publish the lowest or highest temperature, a cooking-timer limit, mode-by-mode ranges, or first-use steps. It says little to no preheating is needed, but that is not the same as documenting that every recipe skips preheating. If a particular low-temperature routine, long dehydration timer or exact accessory is essential, get that requirement confirmed for SKU 140-3220-01 rather than borrowing values from another Vortex model.
Who should compare another model?
This Truffle configuration makes the most sense when a 5.3-quart single basket, four listed functions, viewing window, odor-filter feature and dishwasher-safe basket all line up with your priorities. For a documented larger dual-zone alternative, compare the Instant Pot Vortex 9QT VersaZone 140-3092-01: its 9-quart configuration is intended for split-zone flexibility, but it is a different layout and should be chosen only if that extra capacity and operating separation fit your counter and meal planning.
If you do not need two zones but want more nominal volume and Roast/Broil listed, compare 140-3089-01 instead. If none of those differences is essential, the Truffle model’s smaller stated capacity and focused four-function list may be enough. In the finder, selecting one basket, one cooking zone, a window, dishwasher-safe basket care, Dehydrate, or the listed 120V/60Hz documentation can positively describe this model. Requiring two physical baskets, two independent zones, six quarts, Broil, or an undocumented temperature/timer minimum should remove it from the shortlist. Leave the numeric setting fields blank unless a documented range is important to you.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Combined nominal capacity | 5.3 qt |
| Cooking functions | The exact product page lists four cooking functions: air fry, bake, dehydrate and reheat. It does not list Broil, Grill or Proof among those four. |
| See-through cooking window | Yes |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
More specifications and setup details
| Listed power | 1500 W |
|---|
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Instant Pot U.S. product page for exact SKU 140-3220-01
- Instant Pot U.S. air-fryer collection, observed row 16 / SKU 140-3220-01
- Instant Pot exact SKU-linked product image
- Product-page-linked manual URL response; HTML viewer shell, no manual text used
- Embedded Widen manual viewer response; HTML, not manual pages
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.
