Model assessment · Instant Pot

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT Stainless Steel Air Fryer with ClearCook and OdorErase review

A current U.S. Instant Pot Vortex Plus single-basket air fryer, exact SKU 140-3089-01, with nominal 6-quart capacity, a manufacturer-listed ClearCook window, OdorErase filters, six named cooking functions and six customizable presets.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

Instant Pot’s U.S. air-fryer collection card links to an exact product page titled Vortex Plus 6QT Stainless Steel Air Fryer with ClearCook and OdorErase; the exact page lists SKU 140-3089-01.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT 140-3089-01 manufacturer image, showing stainless-steel upper housing and one ClearCook-window basket.

A single 6-quart ClearCook-window basket with the manufacturer-described OdorErase filter system.

Image source and model notes
Instant Pot manufacturer image for the Vortex Plus 6QT with ClearCook and OdorErase, SKU 140-3089-01; photo-versus-render status is not stated. Instant Pot exact U.S. SKU 140-3089-01 product-page gallery; image filename includes the exact model number.
A useful fit for

For a shopper who wants one nominal 6-quart basket with a ClearCook window, the manufacturer-described OdorErase filters, dishwasher-safe cooking baskets/trays and the named Air Fry, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate functions. It is a single-area plan; the six-quart figure is not a guaranteed food-load fit.

The main tradeoff

No independently controlled second zone or sync-finish feature is documented. Exact temperature endpoints, timer range, app controls, basket-light status, filter maintenance, complete accessories and manual-only setup remain unknown because the linked manual request returned HTML. The product page’s Color: Black field and Stainless Steel model name do not establish a separate finish option. No hands-on cooking, price, ASIN or stock claim.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is one six-quart basket enough, or do you need separate food schedules?

The exact page and image identify a single six-quart pull-out basket. No independent dual-zone or synchronized-finish plan is documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you use a window and the maker-described odor filters?

ClearCook and OdorErase are named on this exact SKU page. The page does not state a basket light or filter service interval.

Explore this need in the finder →
Which named cooking functions must be included?

The exact listing names Air Fry, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate; mode ranges remain unknown without manual pages.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the removable cooking basket need dishwasher confirmation?

The exact product page says the cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher-safe; this does not cover the housing or an undocumented accessory.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a documented low-temperature endpoint or remote monitoring?

Neither is established by the exact product page, and the linked manual response was HTML rather than PDF. A hard essential requirement for either must not pass on unknown data.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is documented U.S. electrical service important?

The exact product page lists 1700 W, 120 V~60 Hz, ETL certification and built-in safety features.

Explore this need in the finder →

Instant Pot Vortex Plus 6QT Stainless Steel ClearCook OdorErase Air Fryer (140-3089-01)

The Instant Pot Vortex Plus 140-3089-01 brings a six-quart single drawer, ClearCook viewing window and OdorErase filter system together in one stainless-steel-listed configuration. The manufacturer’s U.S. product page identifies the exact SKU and names six cooking functions: Air Fry, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate. It also describes six customizable presets. This is the Vortex Plus to consider when one larger basket, visibility and the maker’s odor-control feature matter more than separate cooking zones.

Six quarts, still one schedule

Instant Pot calls the basket six quarts and says it handles up to six portions. Treat both as the manufacturer’s nominal capacity description, not a measured usable volume or a guarantee that every shape and amount of food will fit. A wide layer of vegetables, a compact pile of frozen snacks and a bulky main dish use the same drawer differently. If a basket-size floor is important, the listed six quarts can clear a six-quart minimum; it cannot establish a seven-quart minimum or tell you how much of a particular recipe can be spread out well.

The exact product page and its linked image show a single pull-out cooking drawer, not two separately scheduled baskets. ClearCook is a viewing window, not a second zone. I would not select this configuration for two foods that must use different settings and finish together: the available exact listing does not document independent zones or synchronized finish. Someone who only wants one schedule for a family meal, snacks or side dishes has a more plausible fit. If one five-quart basket is enough, compare the Vortex Chef Series 140-3151-01; its review covers a smaller ClearCook model with a different four-function listing. Do not transfer this model’s OdorErase or six-mode claims to it.

ClearCook and OdorErase address different annoyances

The manufacturer describes ClearCook as a window for checking food without opening the drawer. That can make a quick look easier, but it does not remove the need to turn or shake food when the recipe calls for it, and the page does not confirm a basket light. OdorErase is described as built-in air filters that remove cooking odors. That is a manufacturer claim, not a comparative kitchen test. The listing does not give a filter replacement schedule, filter life, replacement cost or a measure of how much odor remains for any particular food. If you need those details before buying, this page alone does not resolve them.

The six cooking functions are broader than a basic Air Fry-only description: Air Fry, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate are all named on the exact model page. The page separately says six customizable presets can store preferred recipe settings; those saved settings are not six additional cooking functions. The product page calls the controls intuitive and touchscreen-based, while the manufacturer image shows the panel and its labeled mode buttons. Neither proves connected app operation. The listing gives no exact temperature endpoints, timer range or mode-by-mode operating chart in the captured material, so do not choose it for a required low-temperature floor, precise high endpoint or a specific dehydrating duration on assumption.

Cleanup and installation facts

Instant Pot says the cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher-safe. That is useful for cleanup, but it is not permission to put the appliance housing or an undocumented accessory in the dishwasher. The exact page lists 1,700 watts, 120 volts and 60 Hz, an ETL certification statement, overheat protection and automatic shutoff. It also states a one-year limited warranty for qualifying original owners buying from authorized retailers; confirm current terms and seller eligibility. The captured page’s specification block reports width 11.8, height 13.0 and length 15.4 without stating a unit alongside those numbers, so I would not treat them as clearance measurements. Measure the actual counter and leave room around the appliance as its instructions require.

Who should choose it—and who should keep looking?

This is a reasonable candidate if you want a six-quart nominal basket, a window, named Broil and Dehydrate modes, dishwasher-confirmed cooking baskets and trays, and a maker-described odor filter in one appliance. The best reason to choose it over a smaller ClearCook option is that combination and the six-quart listing—not an unverified speed, crispness or noise advantage. It remains a one-drawer machine, and a clear window does not replace checking food properly.

Choose another design if synchronized dual-zone cooking, remote progress monitoring, a documented temperature range or a proven basket load for a particular recipe is essential. The exact linked owner-manual address returned a small HTML web response instead of manual PDF pages. Therefore exact setup, preheat guidance, cleaning details beyond the page’s dishwasher statement, filter maintenance, mode ranges, accessories and first-use procedures remain unverified here. This review evaluates manufacturer-published information; it is not a hands-on cooking test, and it makes no claim about price or current stock.

Sources: Instant Pot U.S. product page, SKU 140-3089-01; Instant Pot U.S. air-fryer collection. The page-linked manufacturer image is the exact SKU-labeled listing graphic; its photography/render status is not stated.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity6 qt
Cooking functionsThe exact SKU product page labels the appliance 6-in-1 and enumerates Air Fry, Roast, Broil, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate. Do not transfer mode ranges from another Vortex model.
See-through cooking windowYes
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
More specifications and setup details
Listed power1700 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.