Model assessment · Ninja

Ninja DualZone 8-Qt Dual Air Fryer review

A gray, side-by-side dual-basket air fryer with two separately controlled 4-qt baskets (8 qt combined), Smart Finish and Match Cook.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Ninja DZ801 grey two-basket air fryer shown with one drawer open and the digital front control panel
Exact DZ801 manufacturer asset. The image shows two grey drawers and the front panel; the maker does not disclose whether it is photography or CGI. SharkNinja U.S. — exact DZ801 page-linked carousel asset
A useful fit for

A household that wants two independently set 4-qt drawers and uses Smart Finish for a main and side that need different cooking settings but should be ready together.

The main tradeoff

The 8 qt is divided into two 4-qt baskets rather than one wide cavity. The exact page's function lists disagree on Broil versus Max Crisp; it does not document a full temperature range, 120 V / 60 Hz supply or dishwasher-safe basket care, and it names no coating chemistry.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would two separately removable baskets let you cook different foods with separate settings?

The exact DZ801 page lists two 4-qt baskets and says they are independently controlled zones.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do two differently programmed foods need to finish together?

The exact U.S. page identifies Smart Finish for synchronizing different zone settings.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would copying one basket's cooking settings to the other be useful?

The exact DZ801 page lists Match Cook for copying settings across zones.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is at least 8 qt of combined basket capacity essential?

SharkNinja lists two 4-qt baskets, or 8 qt total; that capacity is split between the drawers.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must a U.S. owner guide state both 120 V and 60 Hz for your electrical requirement?

The exact page does not give an electrical rating and an exact U.S. DZ801 guide was not established, so this model does not pass a hard documentation filter.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does your essential care rule require the exact basket itself to be documented dishwasher-safe?

The U.S. page names dishwasher-safe crisper plates, but does not state dishwasher-safe care for the DZ801 baskets.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Ninja DualZone DZ801 is an 8-quart air fryer built around two separately controlled pull-out baskets. Its useful advantage is meal timing: one zone can run a different setting from the other, and Smart Finish is designed to bring the two zones to the end together. That is more specific than simply having extra volume. If you mostly cook one food at a time, the DZ801's second basket and paired controls may be more appliance than you need; if you regularly want a main and a side to finish together, the split arrangement is the point.

Ninja DZ801 grey two-basket air fryer shown with one drawer open and the digital front panel
Exact DZ801 asset from SharkNinja's U.S. product page. The manufacturer does not say whether this product image is a photograph or CGI.

Eight quarts means two four-quart drawers

SharkNinja lists an 8-quart total split across two 4-quart baskets. The baskets are independently controlled zones, not a single wide 8-quart cavity with a divider. You can set each side for a different food and use Smart Finish to synchronize when they are meant to be ready. Match Cook is a different tool: the page describes it as copying settings across both zones for the same batch or the same cooking plan. If the same frozen food goes in both drawers, copied settings can save repeated entry. If a main and a side need different time or temperature, synchronized finishing is the more relevant feature.

Capacity figures describe rated volume, not an independent fit test. A pair of four-quart drawers can be practical when foods are naturally separated, but a long or wide cut still has to fit within one drawer's footprint. It cannot become one open 8-quart space. The manufacturer's page says this model can feed 6–8 people or cook up to 4 pounds of fries or wings; treat those as the maker's examples, not a serving guarantee for every meal. When your essential requirement is an uninterrupted area for a pan or broad food, compare an oven-style air fryer rather than translating the quart figure into a promise of fit.

Controls and program names need a careful read

The exact DZ801 page identifies separate baskets and digital controls. It names Smart Finish and Match Cook, and its package list includes two nonstick crisper plates. One practical distinction is clearer than the marketing labels: two zones can be timed independently, but each zone is still a four-quart basket. The layout is side by side, so leave counter width and drawer-pull room rather than shopping by capacity alone.

There is a real inconsistency in the manufacturer's page about cooking programs. The detailed feature list names Air Fry, Broil, Roast, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate. The Highlights section instead lists Air Fry, Max Crisp, Roast, Bake, Dehydrate and Reheat; the exact model image also shows Air Broil and Max Crisp labels. The page therefore does not establish a single unambiguous six-mode list. I would not choose this model because an Air Broil, Broil or Max Crisp mode is essential until SharkNinja supplies the exact U.S. DZ801 guide or confirms the control functions. The shared modes explicitly named across both page lists—Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate—are the reliable overlap. No full adjustable temperature or timer range is established by the page.

Measure the counter and understand the care claim

SharkNinja lists the body at 14.96 inches long, 14.57 inches wide and 12.2 inches high, with a listed weight of 16.76 pounds. These are the manufacturer's dimensions, not independent measurements. Check the stated orientation against your counter, cabinet clearance and the path needed to pull out a hot drawer. Two baskets also mean two removable cooking vessels to handle, plus two crisper plates; for one-person portions, a smaller single-basket design may involve less sorting and space.

The exact U.S. page calls the crisper plates dishwasher-safe. It does not say the DZ801 baskets are dishwasher-safe: “easy-to-clean baskets” is not the same care instruction. Basket substrate, surface chemistry and explicit PFAS-free status are also not established there. If a dishwasher-safe basket or a specific material disclosure is a must-have, do not let the page's general cleaning language substitute for the matching owner guide. Likewise, I did not find a U.S. DZ801 owner guide or an electrical rating in the accessible exact-model materials; an essential 120 V / 60 Hz requirement should remain a filter until a code-specific guide is available.

Where the DZ801 fits among alternatives

Choose the DZ801 if the two four-quart drawers match the way you plan meals, and its listed dimensions fit the counter. The 10-quart DZ901SD offers a higher combined capacity, but its exact Stone Gold page does not divide that figure into per-basket measurements or list Match Cook; keep those as open questions rather than borrowing them from the gray DZ901 page. For the same eight-quart total in a vertical layout, the Ninja DoubleStack SL201 uses two four-quart stacked baskets; its rack adds a second loading level inside each zone, while the DZ801's side-by-side drawers prioritize a lower profile. Compare the height and drawer clearance, not just the shared total.

The DZ801 is best understood as a two-zone scheduling choice, not a performance-tested upgrade. The maker's page supports its capacity, basket count, Smart Finish, Match Cook, dimensions and one-year warranty. It does not resolve every mode label, electrical rating, basket-care rule or coating material. If those details change your choice, the next step is to check the exact product code on its owner's guide before buying.

Sources: SharkNinja's U.S. DZ801 product page and its exact DZ801 product-page image.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units2
Maximum independent cooking zones2
Combined nominal capacity8 qt
Cooking functionsThe two U.S. page lists disagree: Product Details names Broil, while Highlights names Max Crisp; the exact product image also labels Air Broil and Max Crisp. The U.S. guide is not resolved, so only the five shared names are treated as established for matching.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe exact U.S. page calls the crisper plates nonstick and dishwasher-safe. It does not identify basket material, basket dishwasher care, coating chemistry or an explicit PFAS-free statement.
Exact configuration noteExact U.S. DZ801: two separate 4-qt baskets, 8 qt combined, Smart Finish and Match Cook; the page's Broil/Max Crisp naming conflict is unresolved.
See-through cooking windowNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.