Model assessment · Philips

Philips 5000 Series Airfryer XL Connected HD9280/91 review

An earlier Philips U.S.-listed connected, single-basket air fryer with a 6.2 L / approximately 6.6 U.S.-qt pan, 1.2 kg stated basket capacity, seven presets and 14 advertised cooking uses. Its HD9280 North American family manual describes remote app start, progress monitoring and setting changes; the exact technical sheet states 2,000 W but not voltage or frequency.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

The exact U.S. Philips profile identifies HD9280/91 and marks it discontinued. Keep it distinct from other HD9280 suffixes. The Philips technical sheet lists 2,000 W but does not publish this exact configuration's voltage or frequency; do not infer either from wattage or its U.S. web listing.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Philips HD9280/91 black single-basket air fryer with its drawer open
Image source and model notes
Philips product-gallery image associated with the exact HD9280/91 page. It shows a black single-drawer appliance; Philips does not disclose whether the image is a photograph or a rendered product image. Philips U.S. exact HD9280/91 product-page gallery
A useful fit for

A shopper considering an earlier exact Philips model who wants one 6.2 L basket with app-based remote starting, monitoring and setting changes. It is not a two-zone appliance. The exact records do not establish 120 V / 60 Hz, a numeric temperature range, PFAS-free coating or a single universally suitable load size; those essentials must be treated as unmet.

The main tradeoff

The useful distinction is connected remote control, not a large preset count: Philips documents seven presets and separately advertises fourteen cooking uses for one basket. The North American family manual supplies food-specific starting quantities and shaking guidance, but not a universal temperature/time range. The exact 2,000 W sheet omits voltage and frequency; the product sheet's two-year guarantee and the linked manual's one-year limited warranty conflict. Surface chemistry, exact-code recall status, accessory inclusion and current availability are not established.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would an earlier, single-basket Philips with app-based cooking controls suit your routine?

HD9280/91 has one 6.2 L basket and one zone. Its linked North American family manual documents app start, progress monitoring and setting changes; Philips marks the exact product page discontinued.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is an approximate 6.6-quart single basket enough, without treating its volume as a tested batch result?

Philips lists 6.2 L, about 6.6 U.S. liquid quarts, and 1.2 kg/five portions. The manual separately suggests up to 800 g for fries, so a stricter minimum above the converted volume does not fit.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the phone start, monitor and adjust the same one-zone cook remotely?

The exact HD9280/91 page and linked HD9280 North American family manual document app start, progress monitoring and setting changes; one smartphone is paired at a time and the manual still says not to leave the appliance unattended.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a dishwasher-cleanable one-basket setup help, if the coating chemistry need not be known?

The linked North American family manual allows dishwasher cleaning of the pan and basket, but calls the surface nonstick without identifying its chemistry or saying PFAS-free.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is documented U.S. 120 V / 60 Hz essential, or is 2,000 W alone not enough?

The exact technical sheet lists 2,000 W but no voltage or frequency. HD9280/91 cannot meet an essential requirement that both values be documented.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips 5000 Series Airfryer XL HD9280/91 is a discontinued, connected single-drawer model. Philips lists a 6.2 L pan, 1.2 kg basket capacity and up to five portions, with a digital touch panel and seven presets. Its useful difference is not the preset count: the HD9280 family manual describes app-based starting, monitoring and changing a cook from away from the appliance. The one basket still means one temperature-and-time session at a time.

One basket, with phone control as an extra

This is a conventional pull-out basket rather than a countertop oven. The removable basket sits inside a pan that catches drippings; Philips’s manual illustrations show the basket and pan separately. All food shares one cooking zone. A dinner where vegetables and chicken need different heat or different finish times still has to be cooked in batches, or adapted to one common schedule. The nominal 6.2 L volume can suit a family-sized routine, but it is not a promise that a crowded basket will crisp evenly.

Philips’s North American HD9280 family manual gives a more useful sense of batch planning than the headline volume alone. It suggests up to 800 g of fries, calls for shaking or turning larger quantities two or three times, and gives food-specific settings rather than a guaranteed result. Its homemade-fries section recommends portions up to 800 g for an even result and explains the preparation steps. Treat those as manufacturer starting points, not measured performance claims. A viewing window is not documented; the manual expects you to pull out the drawer when checking food.

Connected means more than recipes

Here, the app link is a real control feature. Philips’s model page describes Wi-Fi and Alexa support, and the linked HD9280 manual describes sending a recipe, starting cooking, monitoring progress and changing settings from a phone, including when away from home. That makes the HD9280/91 different from the COSORI connected models in this library, whose exact manuals require a person to press Start at the fryer. Philips’s manual also specifies a 2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n home network and says only one smart device can be paired at a time. A shared kitchen may therefore need to hand off pairing access rather than expect several phones to control it concurrently.

Remote start is not a reason to leave the machine running without supervision: the same Philips manual warns not to leave the appliance unattended during operation. Think of the app as a way to handle an attended cook from another room or to monitor a recipe, not as permission to ignore the fryer. Wi-Fi or software updates can also interrupt app use; Philips says local controls remain available if connectivity fails.

Seven presets and fourteen advertised uses

The exact product sheet distinguishes a seven-preset touch screen from its “14-in-1” list of uses. That list includes air frying, roasting, grilling, baking, one-pot cooking, stir-frying, sautéing, cooking from frozen, reheating, defrosting, keeping warm, dehydrating, toasting and stewing. These are still jobs performed inside the same basket, not fourteen separate appliances or cooking zones. The manual’s Keep Warm mode runs at its fixed setting for up to 30 minutes and is not a reheating program. Philips says preheating is not necessary. It does not give a complete minimum-to-maximum temperature range or a general timer range in the exact materials reviewed, so the Dehydrate label alone cannot satisfy a specific low-temperature or long-duration requirement.

Space, cleanup and the unresolved details

Philips lists the black-and-dark-silver HD9280/91 at 403 × 315 × 307 mm, 5.55 kg and 2,000 W, with a 0.8 m cord. The main body is listed as plastic. The exact technical sheet does not state voltage or frequency, so anyone who requires documented 120 V / 60 Hz should treat that answer as unknown and choose a product whose exact records state both. Do not infer outlet compatibility from the model’s U.S. product page or from wattage alone.

The manual permits dishwasher cleaning for the pan and basket and warns against metal utensils or abrasive cleaning materials on their nonstick coating. Philips does not identify the coating chemistry or make an exact-model PFAS-free statement, so it cannot meet an explicit surface-material requirement. Warranty documents also disagree: the sheet says a two-year worldwide guarantee while the North American manual states a one-year limited warranty. Check the actual unit’s terms rather than relying on either statement as universal.

Who should look elsewhere?

Choose the HD9280/91 when you specifically value a relatively large single basket and remote app starting, monitoring and adjustment, and you can live with one shared cooking schedule and setup on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. It is a poor fit when two independently controlled baskets, a documented low-temperature floor, identified coating chemistry or published 120 V / 60 Hz are essential. If you prefer a simpler single drawer, the Philips HD9200/91 has analogue controls and a smaller listed 4.1 L pan, but its exact voltage and frequency are also unstated. If app monitoring and setting changes matter but local starting is acceptable, the COSORI TurboBlaze Smart CAF-DC601S-WUSR is another one-basket direction; its published capacity conflicts across its own sources, so do not use an assumed size to decide fit. Philips marks the HD9280/91 discontinued, so do not assume present stock or warranty coverage from an archived listing. Philips’s exact-model page is the appropriate place to confirm how it identifies the code.

Philips HD9280/91 black single-basket air fryer with the drawer open
Image source and model notes
Philips product-gallery image associated with the exact HD9280/91 page. It shows a black single-drawer appliance; Philips does not say whether the image is a photograph or a rendered product image.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity6.6 qt
Connected app controlsYes
Cooking functionsThe exact 2023 Philips product sheet names fourteen advertised uses: fry, roast, grill, bake, one-pot cooking, stir-fry, sauté, cook from frozen, reheat, defrost, keep warm, dehydrate, toast and stew. The manual's seven food presets are frozen potato-based snacks, fresh fries, chicken drumsticks, fish, cake, meat chops and vegetables. Dehydrate is an advertised function, but no exact full minimum-temperature or duration range was established.
See-through cooking windowNo
More specifications and setup details
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power2000 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.