Model assessment · Philips

Philips Avance Collection Airfryer XL HD9240/34, HD9241/44 and HD9240/36 review

Earlier Philips Avance XL single-basket variants: white HD9240/34, cashmere-gray HD9241/44 and white HD9240/36. The /34 and /44 sheets specify a 1.2 kg basket, digital touchscreen, one saved favorite, 60-minute timer, 2,100 W and 110 V without frequency. The exact /36 product page lists 1.2 kg and 2,100 W but leaves voltage/frequency unstated; do not transfer 110 V from sibling suffixes. Full cooking instructions are also less certain for /36: its exact support file is a two-page HD924x leaflet.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Three exact Philips XL codes are kept separate: /34 white, /44 cashmere gray and /36 white. The /34 and /44 sheets say 110 V with frequency unstated; the /36 product page omits voltage and frequency. Philips marks the /34 and /44 pages discontinued; do not infer availability for any code.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cashmere-gray Philips Avance Collection Airfryer XL HD9241/44 with a digital panel and one pull-out basket
Image source and model notes
The exact Philips HD9241/44 page labels this standard product photo and lists the finish as cashmere gray. Philips does not state whether the studio image is a photograph or a render. Philips U.S. exact model product page
A useful fit for

An existing owner or shopper checking a clearly identified earlier unit who wants one larger 1.2 kg single basket, digital controls and one reusable favorite time/temperature setting. This is not a dual-zone or volume-in-quarts answer.

The main tradeoff

These earlier single-basket models have no published quart volume. The /34 and /44 exact sheets state 110 V but omit frequency; /36 has no exact supply value. The /44 and /36 support downloads are abbreviated. Coating chemistry, PFAS status, current stock and individual used-unit condition remain unknown.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would one large basket with one shared schedule suit your cooking?

Both exact models have one 1.2 kg basket and one control plan. They do not create two independently set zones.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you prefer a digital panel and a saved favorite setting?

The exact sheets list a digital touchscreen and favorite button; Philips family instructions for HD9240/HD9241 describe one saved temperature/time pair. The exact /44 download is partial, but the separate family manual names HD9241.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must a removable basket or pan be dishwasher-safe?

Both exact sheets list dishwasher-safe removable parts; the full Philips family manual names HD9240 and HD9241 and confirms pan/basket care after cooling. The exact /44-linked file is an incomplete excerpt, so the separate family manual supplies the basic care directions.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the model documentation explicitly state both 120 V and 60 Hz?

No. Both exact data sheets say 110 V and omit frequency. This pair does not pass a strict documented 120 V / 60 Hz requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a manufacturer-listed capacity in quarts essential?

Philips lists 1.2 kg / 2.65 lb, not quart volume. A quart minimum remains unknown and must not pass this filter.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require the manufacturer to state that contact surfaces are PFAS-free?

The exact records identify nonstick parts but do not name the chemistry or state PFAS-free status; an essential PFAS-free request is not met.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Avance Collection Airfryer XL HD9240/34 and HD9241/44 are large, single-drawer models for people who want more food space and a programmable digital control than the earlier Viva dials. Their exact product sheets give both a 1.2 kg basket, a 60-minute timer, adjustable temperature to 390°F, 2,100 W and a 110 V supply. The white /34 and cashmere-gray /44 are finish variants in the manufacturer’s records, but check the code on a used unit: neither sheet states 60 Hz. The exact /44 support download is incomplete, although a separate Philips family manual names HD9240 and HD9241 and covers their operating basics without slash suffixes. Both exact Philips pages mark the models discontinued, so this is an identification and comparison review, not a promise of current availability.

Philips’s later all-products directory also lists the white HD9240/36. Its own product page repeats the 1.2 kg, 2,100 W single-basket outline, but the /36 technical page does not publish voltage or frequency. The linked support file is only a two-page multilingual HD924x leaflet, not a complete recipe manual. Do not use the /34 or /44 electrical values to fill the /36 gap: it is a separately documented suffix, even though its exact gallery image returns the same bytes as the white /34 asset.

White Philips Avance Collection Airfryer XL HD9240/34 with digital control panel and pull-out drawer
Image source and model notes
Philips’s exact HD9240/34 page supplies this standard product image. Philips does not say whether the studio image is a photograph or a render.
Cashmere-gray Philips Avance Collection Airfryer XL HD9241/44 with digital control panel and pull-out drawer
Image source and model notes
The exact HD9241/44 page labels this standard product photo and lists the finish as cashmere gray. Photography-versus-render status is not stated.

Capacity is one larger basket, not two cooking schedules

Philips calls this the XL Airfryer and puts its capacity at 1.2 kg (2.65 lb) in the exact sheets. That is a food-load figure, not a quart measurement or a guarantee that a particular family meal fits in one layer. The pull-out format remains one pan, one basket and one shared temperature and timer. You can cook a larger single batch than in a compact 0.8 kg Viva, but you cannot assign different temperatures to separate sides or finish two dishes independently. If your real need is two timed dishes, compare a genuine dual-basket configuration such as the COSORI CAF-R901-AUS rather than treating “XL” as a synonym for dual-zone.

The published dimensions are 422 × 314 × 302 mm and the unit weighs 7 kg. Measure the counter for the body plus the full drawer pull-out, leave the manufacturer’s ventilation clearances, and plan a place for the hot pan to rest. A bigger food load can reduce how often you cook in batches, but the manual still gives food-specific ranges and says overlapping fries need shaking. The listed maximum should not be read as an optimal load for every ingredient.

A saved favorite, not a bank of automatic menus

The product sheets describe a digital touch interface, independent time and temperature adjustment, and a “smart preset” button for a favorite dish. In the full Philips HD9240 manual, the star button stores one time-and-temperature pair; it does not offer a row of fixed automatic programs. That is useful if you repeatedly use one routine and would rather recall it than dial both values again. It is less compelling if you expect several recipes to remain saved, an ingredient sensor, or phone control. Philips lists a recipe app, but neither exact record documents Wi-Fi, remote adjustment or remote start.

For /34, the linked 13-page HD9240 manual explains the basic sequence: select temperature, optionally run the appliance empty to preheat, set the timer, and press Start/Stop. If you skip preheating, it says to add three minutes to the cooking time. The timer can run to 60 minutes. Philips also publishes an English family manual whose type-code list names HD9240 and HD9241 (as well as HD9247 and HD9248) without the slash suffixes; it describes the same one-basket controls, optional preheat and one saved favorite. The exact /44 support link in the archive produced only two readable pages, so its own download is incomplete; the family manual is the separate source for basic HD9241 operation, not evidence that every suffix-level electrical detail is interchangeable.

Cleaning and exact electrical documentation

Philips’s exact product sheets list dishwasher-safe removable parts; the family manual explicitly says the pan and basket can go in the dishwasher after they cool. It also calls for removing oil after use, using a non-abrasive sponge, and avoiding metal utensils that could damage the nonstick surface. The family guide covers HD9240 and HD9241 by base code, not suffix; the /44 page’s exact download remains incomplete. Philips identifies a nonstick surface but does not name the coating chemistry or document these contact surfaces as PFAS-free. If a coating-material requirement is essential, neither suffix qualifies on the evidence here.

The exact sheets say 110 V, 2,100 W and 0.8 m cord; they do not state the supply frequency. That is not the same as a published 120 V / 60 Hz rating. The finder therefore does not treat either model as satisfying a hard 120 V-and-60 Hz requirement, and no rating-plate inspection of an individual used fryer has been made. Ask the seller to show the exact appliance label and confirm with Philips before using a unit whose documentation and label disagree. A plug shape or a U.S.-hosted product page does not resolve a missing frequency value.

Who should look at this family?

These earlier models make the most sense to an existing owner or a shopper who has found a clearly identified used unit, wants a larger single basket, and values a remembered favorite setting. The /34 and /44 exact sheets agree on the core format and the meaningful choice is the white versus cashmere-gray finish; Philips marks both discontinued. The white /36 adds another exact code, but its voltage and frequency are not published on the reviewed product/support pages. Do not treat any of these listings as proof that a particular machine is in stock, complete, clean, safe or covered by a live warranty. For a smaller, simpler current Philips one-basket alternative, the HD9200/91 has a published 4.1 L pan and physical dials, but lacks the XL food-weight figure and programmable favorite emphasis. For two independent schedules, choose a documented two-basket model instead. If two zones, exact 120 V / 60 Hz documentation, a precise quart minimum or disclosed coating chemistry are essential, these Philips XL codes do not settle that question.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Highest documented setting390°F
Cooking functionsThe exact product sheets list frying, baking, grilling and roasting. No dedicated Dehydrate control is documented for either suffix.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe exact sheets describe nonstick removable parts but do not identify coating chemistry or state that the contact surfaces are PFAS-free.
Exact configuration noteTwo exact Philips U.S.-listed finish variants share the stated 1.2 kg, 2,100 W, 110 V, touchscreen and 60-minute specifications. Philips marks both discontinued. The complete HD9240 manual is available for /34; the two-page /44 manual file lacks a complete cooking section.
More specifications and setup details
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power2100 W
Listed supply110 V

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.