On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would one pull-out drawer and Philips’s 0.8 kg fries claim match your usual batch, or do you need a published quart rating?
Philips lists 0.8 kg of fries for /96, /99 and /56. None of those exact figures is a volume rating in quarts.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want digital presets with local manual temperature and time adjustment?
For each exact suffix, Philips lists four one-touch categories—frozen fries, meat, fish and chicken drumsticks—and a QuickControl dial that sets temperature and time. The control is not a second cooking zone.
Explore this need in the finder →Must an exact product be documented for a U.S. 120 V / 60 Hz outlet?
The exact /96, /99 and /56 records list 220 V / 1,425 W and omit frequency; none documents domestic 120 V / 60 Hz.
Explore this need in the finder →Would dishwasher cleaning be useful if the coated parts must cool first?
Philips permits dishwasher cleaning of removable drawer/basket parts, and the linked manual also covers the pan and fat reducer. Wait for cooling and avoid metal utensils and abrasive pads. Coating chemistry and PFAS status remain unknown.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need two foods to cook at different settings and finish together?
No. HD9741/96 and /99 each have one drawer and one cooking zone, without an independent synchronized second basket.
Explore this need in the finder →Is an explicit quart minimum essential?
Philips gives a 0.8 kg fries weight, not a quart measurement. Unknown volume cannot satisfy a hard quart minimum for either suffix.
Explore this need in the finder →The Philips Premium Airfryer HD9741/96, /99 and /56 are separate black suffixes for a single-drawer fryer with a manufacturer-listed 0.8 kg fries capacity. Their exact pages describe a digital display, four presets, QuickControl dial and Fat Removal. All three records list 220 V / 1,425 W; none states frequency. This reference assessment identifies an existing unit rather than recommending a domestic 120 V / 60 Hz purchase. Preserve the exact suffix for service and accessories.

Image source and model notes

Image source and model notes

Image source and model notes
A fries-weight rating, not a quart promise
Philips calls the basket capacity 0.8 kg of fries and describes that amount as up to four portions. Treat both as the manufacturer’s serving language, not as a tested household batch size. A kilogram rating is not a volume in quarts, and the pages do not give a quart capacity. If a volume minimum matters to you, compare against a model with its own exact quart specification rather than converting this fries weight.
The manual gives a more practical starting point for frozen fries: 200–800 g at 350°F for roughly 13–27 minutes, with a shake halfway through. Its home-cut fries entry uses the same broad weight range and time, but asks you to soak the cut potatoes for 30 minutes, dry them, add a little oil and shake halfway. These are suggestions; the manual cautions that ingredient size and brand affect results. A full 800 g load is therefore a ceiling in the table, not a guarantee that every cut or crowded basket browns evenly.
This is one opaque pull-out basket with one cooking zone. It cannot run two foods at separate temperatures or coordinate two independent finishes. If you routinely cook a main and side at once with different settings, a dual-zone model is a better match. If you want a countertop oven cavity with racks and a broader spread-out surface, this drawer format is not equivalent.
Four direct choices and one adjustable control
The digital panel has four one-touch programs for frozen fries, meat, fish and chicken drumsticks. A central QuickControl dial sets temperature and time for ordinary cooking, and Philips lists a keep-warm button as well. The exact technical material lists an 80–200°C range (about 176–392°F) and a timer up to 30 minutes. Philips says preheating is not necessary; the manual’s regular setup begins with food in the basket, then temperature and time are selected. This keeps the routine simple, but it is still one setting for the whole drawer: the preset count does not add cooking zones, a second timer or a longer dehydration cycle.
Philips also promotes the appliance for baking, grilling, roasting and reheating. The operating manual illustrates a baking pan, grill pan, splatter-proof lid and double-layer rack, but the exact pages do not establish which tools are in a particular box. The /96 and /99 pages list HD9904/00 separately as a double-layer accessory for Viva Airfryers. The /56 page makes a generic “+1 accessory” claim without establishing the accessory’s identity in the inspected technical record. If a tool-dependent use is essential, confirm the exact package contents and compatibility rather than treating a family manual or an unnamed item as proof.
Fat capture changes cleanup as well as cooking
Fat Removal is a basket-and-pan arrangement, not a second cooking mode. The manual shows a removable mesh basket with a fat reducer underneath it in the pan and says to operate with the pan, basket and reducer in place. Rendered fat collects below the basket, so greasy foods add a small handling step after cooking. The manual specifically warns that hot grease may collect under the reducer: switch off, unplug, allow the parts to cool and use the advised tool rather than reaching underneath with bare fingers.
For care, Philips says the removable drawer and basket are dishwasher-safe; the linked manual also permits dishwasher cleaning of the pan, basket, reducer and accessories after cooling. It identifies nonstick coating on the pan, basket, reducer and appliance interior, advises against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning, and recommends removing grease from the pan after each use to limit smoke. Philips does not specify the coating chemistry or make an exact-model PFAS-free claim. Dishwasher cleaning is useful, but it does not answer a coating-material requirement.
Who should consider this model family?
Keep these HD9741 suffixes in view if you are identifying an existing Philips fryer, comparing its one-basket workflow with another appliance, or checking what the manual means by the 0.8 kg fries figure and fat reducer. All three listed configurations are black and their exact product records list 220 V / 1,425 W; the suffix still matters on a label, service request or accessory order. Philips’s U.S.-hosted pages do not turn that 220 V rating into compatibility with a 120 V household outlet, and the reviewed records omit frequency. Do not select any of them for a required domestic electrical plan or assume a transformer makes it appropriate. The /56 page’s unidentified accessory line also cannot answer a package-specific need.
If you are shopping for a small, single-basket appliance to use on a documented U.S. 120 V / 60 Hz supply, compare an exact model that states that supply, such as the COSORI Lite Mini CAF-LI211. Its 2.1 qt nominal-volume specification is a different measure from Philips’s 0.8 kg fries figure. Decide by the one-drawer routine and manual local controls; confirm the exact suffix’s outlet rating and any tool package.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Connected app controls | No |
| Lowest documented setting | 176°F |
| Highest documented setting | 392°F |
| Cooking functions | Philips lists fry, bake, grill, roast and reheat. The linked user manual illustrates optional baking, grill, splatter-lid and double-layer accessories, but exact box contents are not established for these suffixes. Do not treat accessories as included without checking the exact package. |
More specifications and setup details
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The linked manual identifies nonstick coating on the pan, basket, fat reducer and interior and warns against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning. Exact coating chemistry and PFAS status are not stated. |
|---|---|
| See-through cooking window | No |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
| Listed power | 1425 W |
| Listed supply | 220 V; frequency not listed in the reviewed exact technical sources |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Philips U.S. latest Airfryer directory page 3, exact HD9741/96 and HD9741/99 rows
- Philips U.S. exact product page for Premium Airfryer HD9741/96
- Philips U.S. support profile for exact Premium Airfryer HD9741/96
- Philips exact-model technical datasheet for Premium Airfryer HD9741/96
- Philips U.S. exact product page for Premium Airfryer HD9741/99
- Philips U.S. support profile for exact Premium Airfryer HD9741/99
- Philips exact technical product page for Premium Airfryer HD9741/99
- Philips Premium Airfryer manual linked from both exact HD9741 support profiles
- Philips Premium Airfryer manual linked from exact HD9741/99 support profile
- Exact-suffix labelled Philips HD9741/99 product-in-use gallery image
- Philips standard product image on exact HD9741/96 product page
- Generic standard Philips gallery asset on exact HD9741/99 page; visually inconsistent with technical description
- Philips U.S. all-products directory page 6, row 70: HD9741/56
- Philips exact Premium Airfryer HD9741/56 page
- Philips support profile for exact HD9741/56
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.