Model assessment · Philips

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/96 review

A discontinued black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL with one pull-out basket and a digital interface. The exact Philips page lists five presets, 1,750 W, a 40–200 °C range and a 60-minute timer. It does not publish voltage or frequency; the support profile links a recipe booklet and UK declaration but no full user manual for this suffix. This is a reference assessment, not a U.S.-mains buying recommendation.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

HD9650/96 is a discontinued, digital single-basket XXL variant. The Philips page lists 1,750 W and a 40–200 °C range but does not state voltage or frequency. Its 1.4 kg and 0.8 kg fries fields are not reconciled. Check the unit plate and exact instructions; this page is not a buying recommendation.

Black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/96 with a digital panel and one pull-out drawer
Image source and model notes
Philips labels this the exact HD9650/96 gallery image; the visible black single drawer and digital panel match that model. Photography-versus-render status is not disclosed. Philips U.S. exact HD9650/96 product page
A useful fit for

Useful to an existing owner identifying the exact discontinued HD9650/96 and its documented digital settings. The exact page lists five presets, 40–200 °C, a 60-minute timer and a 1,750 W rating, but the source gaps prevent a U.S.-mains buying recommendation.

The main tradeoff

One opaque basket means one cooking zone; different foods require separate batches. The exact data have unresolved capacity wording (1.4 kg capacity basket versus 0.8 kg fries), no published voltage/frequency and no full suffix-specific user manual on the support page. Do not use HD9650/90 data to fill those gaps.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Must the exact model documents confirm both 120 V and 60 Hz for your outlet?

The exact HD9650/96 technical page gives 1,750 W but no voltage or frequency. A U.S.-hosted product listing is not proof of outlet compatibility, so this reference model cannot satisfy that essential condition.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do two independent baskets with synchronized finish matter more than one large drawer?

The exact page and image show one pull-out drawer and the fact record supports one cooking zone. Foods with different settings need separate batches; no sync-finish feature is documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a Philips-published minimum six-quart basket capacity essential?

No quart or liter volume is published for the exact HD9650/96. Its separate 1.4 kg basket and 0.8 kg-of-fries fields are unresolved and do not establish a six-quart volume. Unknown volume does not meet a hard minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →

Philips’s U.S. all-products directory includes the discontinued Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/96, a black single-basket model with a digital interface. Its exact product page documents a more useful feature outline than the directory card, but the exact support profile does not link a full user manual and the technical table does not state voltage or frequency. Treat this as an identification and comparison reference—not a U.S. purchase recommendation.

Black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/96 with a digital display and one pull-out drawer
Image source and model notes
Philips’s exact HD9650/96 product gallery labels this model and shows one drawer with a digital control panel. Philips does not disclose whether the studio image is a photograph or render.

What Philips documents for this suffix

The exact HD9650/96 page lists a 1.4 kg basket-capacity field, 1,750 W, a digital interface, five presets, a 40–200 °C temperature range and a timer up to 60 minutes. It also lists automatic shut-off, Keep Warm, a plastic main body, a black finish and a dishwasher-safe claim. The listing identifies the product as discontinued. The control image shows buttons surrounding a central dial, but the support file set does not provide the full exact-model instructions needed to describe a dependable button sequence, care routine or cooking table.

There is an important capacity qualification. Philips’s same exact technical data separately says “Capacity basket: 1.4” and “Basket capacity: 0.8 kg of fries.” Those are manufacturer fields, not a tested measurement, and the page does not reconcile what foods or load conditions each refers to. Do not turn the 1.4 kg entry into a claim that it holds 1.4 kg of fries, or convert either weight into quarts. If food load or usable basket volume is a hard requirement, the exact page leaves that question unresolved.

A separate model from the other XXL suffixes

The HD9650/96 deserves its own exact-code record rather than borrowing the HD9650/90 sheet. The HD9650/90 technical sheet lists 2,225 W, while this /96 page lists 1,750 W; the /90 review also records its own unresolved electrical and capacity differences. A page from the same brand or a shared “XXL” name does not make those exact data interchangeable. Check the code on the appliance and its own rating plate before using older records or comparing replacement parts.

The exact /96 support page lists a local recipe booklet and a UK declaration, but not a full user manual for this suffix. A family manual linked from a sibling code cannot fill that gap automatically. As a result, this review stays close to the product page: it does not infer a minimum food load, safe accessory package, coating chemistry, dishwasher rules for a particular removable part, or recall status. The general “dishwasher safe” table entry is not a substitute for component-specific care instructions.

How it fits a real cooking routine

This is one opaque drawer and one cooking zone, not a two-basket appliance. A family that wants one batch at a shared temperature can use its single-drawer format; foods needing different settings still need separate batches. The five presets give named shortcuts, while the digital interface and temperature/time fields indicate that settings are selectable. They do not establish automatic food sensing, phone control or a synchronized finish. Those capabilities are not documented for this exact suffix, so a shopper requiring any of them should choose a model with explicit instructions rather than treating a preset as proof.

The 40 °C lower setting is 104 °F. If your limit is 100 °F or lower, this exact page’s published range misses it. Its 60-minute timer and Keep Warm button may be useful for longer preparation or holding, but without the exact manual we cannot confirm a safe sequence, maximum keep-warm period or food-specific schedule for this model. Follow the instructions supplied with an individual unit, not a sibling’s preset table.

Who should keep it in view—and who should not

This reference can help an existing owner identify the /96, distinguish it from HD9650/90 or HD9867/16, and understand the controls and published setpoints without guessing. It may also help someone comparing older configurations by exact code. It is not appropriate for someone who needs proof of 120 V / 60 Hz, a guaranteed 6-quart basket, a two-zone finish, app operation, a confirmed material disclosure or a cleared recall status. Philips’s exact sources reviewed here do not answer the supply question, and the page’s U.S. web location is not electrical evidence.

For a new purchase, start with a currently documented model and make the questionnaire’s essential conditions explicit: outlet compatibility, basket count, required control method and minimum temperature. A current-reference single basket such as the separately assessed COSORI TurboBlaze has a clear quart listing and a U.S.-specific manual; a dual-basket COSORI is a better structural comparison when two foods need different settings. Those are independent alternatives, not proof that this Philips suffix shares their capacity, supply, care directions or package. If you already own an HD9650/96, check the type plate and unit-specific manual before using it; if you are shopping, select another exact model whose full electrical and care documents answer your needs.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Lowest documented setting104°F
Highest documented setting392°F
Cooking functionsExact product page identifies an air fryer, five presets and a Keep Warm button. No second cooking zone, steam mode or other special cooking mode is established for this suffix.
Basket and crisper-plate materialNo exact /96 coating chemistry or food-contact material disclosure was located in the product/support sources reviewed.
More specifications and setup details
See-through cooking windowNo
Listed power1750 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.