Model assessment · Philips

Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/26B1 / HD9220/29 review

Reference review of two separately listed but functionally aligned black, single-basket Viva Collection air fryers: 0.8 kg nominal basket, analog time and temperature dials, and a 30-minute timer.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

The Philips U.S. latest Airfryer directory displayed HD9220/26B1 and HD9220/29 as separate rows. Their exact product pages and exact support pages were inspected separately. Their published common cooking configuration and linked manual bytes support one shared operating-plan review; no claim is made about identical packages, spare parts or seller bundles. Both exact product pages state that the products are no longer available.

Philips Viva Collection HD9220/29 black air fryer with one pull-out basket and two analog control dials
Image source and model notes
Philips U.S. official gallery image on the exact HD9220/29 page. Philips does not disclose whether this isolated studio image is a photograph or a rendered image. Philips U.S. — exact HD9220/29 product page
A useful fit for

A small-batch cook who values direct, mechanical time and temperature settings and is identifying an existing HD9220/26B1 or HD9220/29. One drawer is fine if foods can share one setting or be cooked sequentially.

The main tradeoff

The 0.8 kg basket is one zone with no window and only a 30-minute timer. Both exact Philips pages say no longer available; the precise coating chemistry, exact recall status and 120 V compatibility are not confirmed.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can one modest basket and one shared temperature setting handle your usual batch?

Both exact Philips pages identify a black one-basket Viva model with an 800 g / 0.8 kg basket. The linked manual describes one temperature dial and one timer dial; it does not provide a second independently controlled zone.

Do you prefer setting time and temperature directly at the appliance?

The exact product pages describe manual time-and-temperature adjustment, and the linked manual shows two physical knobs. They do not document connected cooking controls or saved presets; no app-control or remote-start capability is assumed.

Is an exact 120 V nameplate essential?

No. The exact /26B1 and /29 tables state 110 V / 50–60 Hz, not 120 V. A strict 120 V requirement is not satisfied by the published value; check the unit label for a particular existing appliance.

Do the exact instructions allow dishwasher cleaning of the pan and basket?

Yes. The linked manual permits dishwasher cleaning of both after use and cooling, while warning against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning on the nonstick surfaces.

Must the contact coating be explicitly identified as PFAS-free?

The manual says the parts have a nonstick coating but does not name its chemistry or state PFAS-free. This requirement remains unknown rather than a match.

Philips lists the Viva Collection HD9220/26B1 and HD9220/29 as separate model codes, but the U.S. product pages describe the same practical cooking setup: a black, single-drawer air fryer with an 800-gram basket, two manual dials and a 30-minute timer. Both exact support pages link a user manual with identical PDF bytes. This is a reference review of that shared operating plan, not a claim that every spare part, package or seller offer is interchangeable across suffixes.

A compact batch machine, not a two-food dinner station

The basket is rated for 0.8 kg, and the manual pairs that ceiling with food-specific guidance rather than promising a particular number of servings. Its table gives frozen fries a 300–800 g range and tells you to shake them; other ingredients have their own suggested amounts and times. The basket has a MAX line, which matters: a larger load is not automatically a better load if food is piled deeply. If dinner includes two foods that need different settings, this machine has only one drawer and one heat-and-time setting. You will need to cook in sequence or choose a real two-zone design.

For a side, snack, or modest single batch, the basic arrangement is easy to understand. Pull the pan out by its handle, load the basket without exceeding its marked limit, return the pan, choose temperature, then turn the timer dial to start. Philips recommends shaking ingredients when the food table calls for it. The windowless drawer means you check browning by pulling it out; a viewing window can be useful if you dislike interrupting that routine, although a window does not eliminate shaking.

Two dials make the settings plain

The temperature control is specified from 180°F to 390°F (80°C to 200°C); the timer runs up to 30 minutes, switches the appliance off and sounds when time is up. There are no touch menus to learn in the linked manual: it depicts a temperature knob and a timer/power knob. Philips describes frying, baking, roasting and grilling, but the controls are manual adjustments, not four independent cooking programs or a bank of saved presets. The published material does not establish a low-temperature dehydration mode, so do not shortlist it for a required drying function.

Cold starts have a small practical wrinkle. The manual says to add three minutes when the appliance is cold; it also says you may preheat it empty by turning the timer past three minutes before loading food. That is an option, not a separate preheat button. The table is a starting point, not a measured promise: food size, batch depth and starting temperature can change what you need to check. Philips calls out shaking for some foods and says the timer begins counting down once turned, so a long cook cannot be treated as one uninterrupted run beyond the 30-minute scale.

Simple removable parts, with coating limits

The linked manual says the pan and basket can go in a dishwasher, or be washed by hand with hot water, dish soap and a non-abrasive sponge after cooling. It asks you to remove oil from the bottom of the pan after each use to help prevent smoke, and warns against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning because the pan, basket and cooking-chamber interior have a nonstick coating. The pages identify the outer body as plastic, but do not identify the basket substrate or name the coating chemistry. PFAS-free status is therefore unknown. If a disclosed stainless-steel body or explicit coating statement is essential, this review cannot verify it.

The suffix matters more than the title

HD9220/26B1 and HD9220/29 are not silently collapsed into one product code. Each has its own exact U.S. product page, support page, image and manual URL. Their published electrical and body details align: 110 V, 50/60 Hz, 1,425 W, 0.8 m cord, 287 × 315 × 384 mm and 7.0 kg; both are black, and both publish a one-year guarantee. The /29 page calls the basket capacity 0.8 kg in its specification table, while the /26B1 page presents 800 g in its product description. The manual files downloaded from the two exact support links are byte-for-byte identical. These facts support one cooking-plan review, but they do not establish identical retail boxes or compatibility of every replacement part.

Both exact product pages now say the models are no longer available. Treat this as a useful reference when identifying an existing unit or checking a specific used offer, not as a current new-purchase recommendation. The U.S. tables specify 110 V rather than 120 V; although they list 50/60 Hz, do not treat that as a documented 120 V rating if that exact requirement matters. The physical appliance label should take precedence for a particular unit. Recall status has not been cleared for either exact suffix.

What to compare instead

For a Philips appliance that lets you watch food without opening the drawer, the NA220/NA221 family adds a window and a larger nominal 4.4-quart basket while remaining a single-zone machine; its exact U.S. suffix and electrical documentation still need to match the seller's offer. For more room in one basket, compare a domestic COSORI Pro LE configuration, and for different settings at once choose a model with two independently controlled zones. Those alternatives solve different problems: a larger single basket helps with batch size, while two zones address timing and temperature separation. Neither the name “Rapid Air” nor a headline method count changes the HD9220 pair's small one-drawer plan.

Philips Viva Collection HD9220/26B1 black air fryer with a single pull-out basket and two analog dials
Image source and model notes
Philips U.S. gallery image tied to the exact HD9220/26B1 page. Philips does not say whether the isolated studio image is photography or a rendered product image.
Philips Viva Collection HD9220/29 black air fryer with a single pull-out basket and two analog dials
Image source and model notes
Separate Philips U.S. gallery image tied to the exact HD9220/29 page. The visible layout is the same basic one-drawer dial arrangement; image medium is not disclosed.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Lowest documented setting180°F
Highest documented setting390°F
Cooking functionsPhilips lists frying, baking, grilling and roasting. The manual's temperature minimum is 180°F; no low-temperature dehydration mode is documented.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe linked manual describes nonstick-coated pan, basket and interior; it allows dishwasher cleaning of the pan and basket and warns against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning. It does not identify the coating chemistry or disclose PFAS status.
More specifications and setup details
Exact configuration noteThe Philips U.S. latest Airfryer directory displayed HD9220/26B1 and HD9220/29 as separate rows. Their exact product pages and exact support pages were inspected separately. Their published common cooking configuration and linked manual bytes support one shared operating-plan review; no claim is made about identical packages, spare parts, connectivity or seller bundles. Both exact product pages state that the products are no longer available.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1425 W
Listed supply110 V / 50–60 Hz

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.