Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart ClearView 9-qt Air Fryer review

A one-zone 9-qt digital basket fryer with a 10.8-inch square single-layer surface, front and overhead viewing windows, five cooking modes, three air-fry presets and a ceramic-coated dishwasher-safe basket and crisper plate.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Cuisinart ClearView AFC-9 with front drawer window and upper viewing window
Exact AFC-9 gallery image shows the larger one-basket ClearView form; its basket substrate is not disclosed. Manufacturer does not identify photograph-versus-render status. Cuisinart U.S. exact AFC-9 product page gallery
A useful fit for

A household that wants a single, broad basket and a larger manufacturer-stated batch surface for one shared meal program, with a way to inspect browning through front and top windows.

The main tradeoff

Its 9 qt is still one cooking zone: different foods cannot run independent settings at once. The broad 10.8-inch square surface gives more room than AFC-4, but the exact product page does not give outer dimensions or an exact minimum temperature; the manual confirms 120 V but not 60 Hz. The basket's substrate beneath its ceramic coating is not identified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is a single large basket enough, or must two foods run with separate settings at once?

AFC-9 provides one 9-qt drawer and one independently set cooking zone; it cannot run two temperatures at once.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a broad single-layer area matter more than a glass vessel for serving and storage?

The 9-qt AFC-9 has a maker-stated 10.8-by-10.8-inch crisper surface; its basket is ceramic nonstick, not documented as glass.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want to watch food from more than one angle without opening the basket?

The exact AFC-9 has both a front window and a panoramic top window, with an interior light.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is dishwasher cleaning of the removable basket a must-have?

The AFC-9 instruction booklet says its ceramic-coated basket and crisper plate are dishwasher-safe.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a glass food basket essential, rather than a clear window around a standard basket?

AFC-9 has a front and overhead window, but its own manual does not identify the food basket as glass; the AFC-4 is the documented glass-vessel alternative.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart ClearView AFC-9 is a single-basket fryer built around a 9-quart drawer and a wide, 10.8-by-10.8-inch crisper surface. Its front and overhead windows, plus an interior light, make the cooking area easier to watch without pulling the basket out. The practical choice is straightforward: this is the larger one-program ClearView, while its AFC-4 sibling has a smaller borosilicate glass food vessel that can be stored after cooling. The AFC-9 is the stronger fit when a broad shared batch area matters more than glass-basket serving or two separately controlled zones.

Capacity means more room for one cooking program

The manufacturer calls the basket 9 quarts and gives the cooking surface as 10.8 inches square. It lists a whole chicken up to 4.5 pounds, two pounds of fries, a 9-inch cake pan, and up to three pounds of wings in the recipe chart or preset. These are the maker’s model-specific examples, not independent cooking tests. The booklet recommends spreading food in one layer, using the reminder to shake or flip when appropriate and checking smaller portions before the suggested end time. A large nominal basket can still need multiple rounds if your usual food shape crowds the base.

Unlike a dual-basket fryer, this is one drawer and one zone. You can set one function and temperature for the load, but you cannot run a main dish in one area and a side in another at a different time or heat. If that coordination is the essential need, Cuisinart’s ADZ-110 and ADZ-112 Pro each document two separate baskets and sync controls. If one basket is enough but a larger footprint is not, the AFC-4 gives up some area in exchange for a clear glass cooking vessel and a cooled-basket storage routine. Measure available counter and drawer clearance before prioritizing the 9-quart label: the product materials reviewed do not state the AFC-9’s outside dimensions.

Windows plus presets, without a second zone

AFC-9’s five modes are Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Roast and Keep Warm. The fryer adds three air-fry presets—Wings, French Fries and Frozen Snacks—and two custom favorite slots for settings you reuse. Temperature goes as high as 450°F in five-degree increments, and the display is a touchscreen. The minimum setting and maximum timer range are not stated in the exact page and booklet reviewed, so do not treat it as a documented choice for very-low-temperature drying or a fixed time threshold. The preset chart is a starting point, not an automatic food sensor. The shake reminder can call for attention, but the manual still asks cooks to turn or toss the foods that need it.

There is a front basket window and a panoramic window over the cooking area, with a light for checking color. Removing the basket pauses the cycle; the booklet says to return it within five minutes to resume. Keep Warm can then hold food for up to an hour. Those are useful workflow details for someone who checks and adjusts mid-cook, but they do not remove the need to open the basket to move food or verify its center.

Coating, cleanup and kitchen fit

Cuisinart describes the AFC-9 basket and crisper plate as PFAS-free ceramic nonstick, and the manual allows dishwasher cleaning of both removable parts. It does not name the underlying basket material, so the AFC-9 should not pass a hard requirement for a stainless-steel or glass basket body merely because the surface has ceramic wording. The precise distinction matters: the AFC-4’s bowl is borosilicate glass; this model is a larger standard basket with a nonstick surface. Use nonmetal tools, avoid abrasive cleaners, unplug and cool the fryer before cleaning, and do not immerse the housing.

The AFC-9 is rated at 1,800 watts on its manufacturer page. The manual’s warranty section says the appliance is designed for 120-volt outlets, but it does not state 60 Hz; if both supply values are essential, the exact source does not satisfy that documentation requirement. It also asks for a heat-safe level surface and two to four inches of clearance from nearby objects, and says not to operate under wall cabinets or inside an appliance garage. The manufacturer lists a three-year limited household warranty; that is a warranty term, not a durability test.

Who should pick this ClearView?

Consider the AFC-9 if you want one broad basket for a larger shared batch, visible browning from two angles, and useful bake/roast/broil modes alongside air frying. Skip it when your meal needs two independently programmed cooking zones, when you need a glass basket for serving and refrigerated storage, or when a documented 60-Hz supply or minimum temperature is a hard filter. The AFC-4 is the material-and-storage alternative; the ADZ dual-basket models change the cooking arrangement rather than simply enlarge this one-zone drawer. Confirm that the listing and package both state AFC-9 before ordering, because Cuisinart’s similarly named models do not inherit each other’s materials, capacities or functions.

Sources: Cuisinart AFC-9 product page and AFC-9 instruction booklet.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity9 qt
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe exact product page and AFC-9 manual list Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Roast and Keep Warm. Air Fry presets for wings, fries and frozen snacks are distinct from modes; two further slots store custom settings.
Basket and crisper-plate materialCuisinart specifically states that AFC-9's basket and crisper plate are PFAS-free ceramic nonstick. It does not identify the base material under that coating.
Exact configuration noteExact U.S. AFC-9 is a one-basket 9-qt model. Keep separate from AFC-4: AFC-9's basket substrate is not stated and is not a glass vessel.
See-through cooking windowYes
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1800 W
Listed supplyGrounded 120 V outlet (manual warranty clause); frequency not stated

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.