Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart CompactMax AIR-212 8-Qt Air Fryer Pro review

An eight-quart elongated digital basket fryer with one cooking zone, a viewing window, five presets, and named Broil and Dehydrate modes.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart AIR-212 elongated black and stainless 8-quart air-fryer basket with viewing window and digital controls.
Exact-model manufacturer product-page gallery image. Cuisinart does not disclose whether the studio image is a photograph or CGI rendering. Cuisinart U.S. exact AIR-212 product page
A useful fit for

For a household that wants one larger elongated basket with a window and documented Broil/Dehydrate options, not simultaneous independent schedules.

The main tradeoff

Its listed eight-quart volume and longer surface do not turn it into two zones. The product page and manual differ on load examples and preset count; use the manual as a cautious planning reference. Basket substrate, explicit PFAS wording, minimum temperature, wattage, weight and 60-Hz rating remain unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Will one large basket and one shared schedule meet your capacity needs?

The AIR-212 is listed at eight quarts and has one elongated basket/one cooking zone; manual chart portions are more cautious than some page claims.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a window and interior light help you check food without opening the drawer?

The exact page and image show a basket window and light; the basket still pauses when withdrawn.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want a named Broil function as well as air frying?

The AIR-212 page and linked booklet list Broil as a function.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a dedicated Dehydrate function important for your routine?

The exact page and manual list Dehydrate; the booklet shows multi-hour drying chart examples.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does dishwasher cleaning matter for the removable basket and crisper plate?

The exact page says dishwasher-safe and manual permits it, while also recommending gentle hand washing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the manufacturer explicitly state PFAS-free food-contact surfaces?

Ceramic nonstick is stated, but no explicit PFAS-free statement was found for the AIR-212 surfaces; this record does not meet that hard evidence requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart CompactMax AIR-212 is an eight-quart basket fryer built around one long drawer, not two separately controlled compartments. That distinction matters more than the product's “Pro” label: it gives you one cooking temperature and one timer at a time, but its elongated basket, viewing window and broad set of named functions make it a different proposition from a small square fryer or a countertop oven.

One long basket, not two cooking zones

Cuisinart lists overall dimensions of 10.4 by 19.2 by 12 inches and describes the elongated shape as a way to fit a larger basket without using as much counter space. The manual identifies an 8.5-by-12-inch surface. That is a useful detail when deciding whether your food can spread out, but it is not a promise that every advertised amount will fit in one layer. Cuisinart’s page describes 3 pounds of fries or a 4.5-pound chicken; the linked AIR-212 booklet gives smaller examples—2 pounds of fries and a 4-pound whole chicken, alongside 3 pounds of wings. Those are manufacturer claims and chart suggestions, not independent cooking tests. If batch size is central, plan around the manual’s chart and the food’s shape rather than treating eight quarts as a guaranteed serving count.

There is one pull-out basket and one active zone. A removable divider is not documented, and there is no way to set separate times or temperatures for two foods. The drawer pauses cooking when removed, which is handy for tossing or checking food but interrupts the cycle. Unlike the AIR-210, this model has a clear window and an interior light, so you can look at browning without opening the drawer; the booklet still recommends tossing or turning some foods.

Six listed functions, plus a separate high-heat option

The product description names Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Dehydrate and Warm, and five Air Fry presets: Fries, Wings, Nuggets, Vegetables and Frozen Snacks. One feature bullet on the same page says four presets and leaves out Nuggets; the exact AIR-212 manual and panel image show the five-item list. The booklet also documents Max Crisp as a separate high-temperature function at 405–450°F. That is an additional cooking choice, not a sixth or seventh preset. The combination is genuinely broader than AIR-210’s page-and-manual feature set: AIR-212 adds named Broil and Dehydrate modes, while AIR-210’s booklet documents Max Crisp but not those two modes.

Do not read the displayed 450°F Max Crisp ceiling as a full temperature range for every function. The sources reviewed do not give one universal minimum setting. Bake has a preheat sequence; the toss reminder can sound halfway through a cycle; and Keep Warm begins automatically after cooking and can hold food for up to an hour. The manual describes up-to-60-minute durations for its standard “more ways to cook” modes, but its dehydration chart contains examples lasting several hours. I would not reduce those mode-specific instructions to a single timer claim.

Care, materials and counter placement

The product page calls the basket and crisper plate ceramic nonstick and says they are dishwasher-safe. The booklet permits dishwasher cleaning but also recommends hand washing with nonabrasive tools. It does not name the basket’s underlying material, and the reviewed sources do not state that the food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. If either a glass or stainless basket body, or an explicit PFAS statement, is essential, this record cannot confirm that requirement. A separate heat-safe baking pan is not included; the manual calls for one when baking goods that need a pan.

Allow two to four inches around the appliance on a stable, heat-safe surface. Cuisinart warns that the exterior becomes hot and says not to operate it under wall cabinets or inside an appliance garage. The exact page does not list item weight or rated wattage. Warranty language in the manual says the unit is designed for 120-volt outlets, but it does not establish a 60-Hz rating. The three-year limited warranty is a coverage term, not a promise of lifespan.

Where it fits—and where it does not

Consider AIR-212 if you want one large, visible basket and expect to use more than a basic Air Fry/Roast/Bake trio. Its Broil and Dehydrate functions are documented, and Max Crisp provides a distinct hotter air-fry option. It is a poor fit if you need two foods to run at independent settings, an oven cavity for multiple racks, a confirmed glass/stainless basket body, or a documented PFAS-free surface. For a smaller drawer with window visibility and a lower listed capacity, compare AIR-80. For toast, rack positions and an oven layout, the TOA-110 changes the appliance format entirely. For a wider basket without Broil/Dehydrate, AIR-210 remains a separate eight-quart option with its own documented limits.

For a side-by-side view of these format and capacity tradeoffs, read the Cuisinart AIR-80, AIR-212 and TOA-110 comparison.

Sources: Cuisinart AIR-212 product page and its instruction and recipe booklet.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity8 qt
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe product page names Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Dehydrate and Warm. The linked booklet also describes Max Crisp separately at 405–450°F. The page and manual differ on preset count; the manual and panel identify Fries, Wings, Nuggets, Vegetables and Frozen Snacks.
Basket and crisper-plate materialCeramic nonstick is specified, but exact sources do not establish underlying substrate or an explicit PFAS-free food-contact statement.
Exact configuration noteOne elongated basket, one cooking program at a time; Max Crisp is separate from the six modes and five presets.
See-through cooking windowYes
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed supplyThe exact booklet says designed for 120-V outlets; it does not state frequency.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.