Model assessment · Ninja

Ninja DoubleStack 8-Qt Air Fryer review

An 8-quart stacked double-basket fryer with two independently set 4-quart drawers and one removable meal rack in each drawer; the racks add cooking levels, not separate controls.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Ninja SL201 DoubleStack 8-quart air fryer shown front-on with two vertically stacked drawers and side controls
Exact-model SharkNinja product-page image for SL201. The manufacturer does not disclose whether this studio image is a photograph or CGI. SharkNinja U.S. — exact SL201 product page main image
A useful fit for

A counter-conscious household that wants two separate independently set drawers, an upper rack layer in each, and Smart Finish for different foods that should reach the table together.

The main tradeoff

The combined 8 qt is split between two 4-qt baskets, and the two rack levels within a basket share one program. It is 17.72 in high; measure counter and drawer clearance. No integrated food probe or exact material chemistry is documented, and the guide recommends hand-washing removable pieces to extend life.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would two separate drawers let you cook foods with different settings at the same time?

The SL201 has two 4-qt baskets with separate Zone 1 and Zone 2 controls; these are two zones, not four.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would one added rack level in each basket help you stage more than one food per zone?

SharkNinja lists two removable stacked meal racks, one for each basket; foods on a rack and its basket share that zone’s settings.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do two different cooking programs need to reach the end together?

The SL201 guide describes Smart Finish for zones with different time, temperature or function; Match Cook instead copies settings.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would an 8-quart combined rating meet your capacity minimum if it is divided into two smaller baskets?

The manufacturer lists two 4-qt baskets for 8 qt total; it is not one 8-qt open drawer.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Ninja SL201 places two separate 4-quart drawers one above the other, for 8 quarts total, and adds a removable stacked-meal rack inside each drawer. That arrangement gives you two independently controlled cooking zones and the option to put food on two levels within each basket. The rack is not a third or fourth cooking zone: food sharing one drawer shares its settings. The question is whether a vertical two-drawer layout and this extra layer fit your meals better than one broad basket or two conventional side-by-side drawers.

Ninja SL201 DoubleStack 8-quart air fryer shown front-on with its two vertically stacked drawers and side control panel
Exact-model SharkNinja product-page image for SL201. The maker does not disclose whether the studio image is a photograph or computer-rendered.

Two drawers and four food positions are different counts

The product page calls the combined capacity 8 quarts and identifies two 4-quart baskets. Each has its own crisper plate and removable stacked meal rack. The manufacturer says the racks let the fryer cook as many as four foods at once, while each basket remains one zone. In practical terms, you can choose one program for the upper drawer and another for the lower. Within either drawer, however, foods on the plate and rack cannot receive separate times or temperatures. The rack can help separate a main and side in one zone, but it does not create the independent timing of another drawer.

Ninja also gives a manufacturer example of fitting two pounds of wings in each drawer and says 8 quarts can serve up to six people. Treat those as maker-listed examples rather than a tested serving promise. Total quart capacity is split into two smaller openings; it is not one uninterrupted space for a long tray, broad casserole or oversized ingredient. Check the exact drawer and rack clearances against what you cook, especially when a recipe needs food spread in a single layer. The product page lists the exterior as 19.45 inches long, 13.15 inches wide and 17.72 inches high. The unit saves some counter width compared with many side-by-side designs, but it is still a fairly tall appliance; check overhead clearance as well as the footprint before ordering.

Use the rack for layers, the controls for zones

The exact SL201 page describes six named functions: Air Fry, Air Broil, Roast, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate. The owner guide likewise lists these modes, with Air Broil set to a fixed 450°F; it does not provide the complete low-to-high range in the material reviewed here. Dehydrate has its own multi-hour timing instructions, so a 60-minute assumption based on another model would not transfer. The guide says the appliance does not require preheating. This is a useful reminder that preset names and capacities are not substitutes for following the cooking chart for a particular food.

Smart Finish and Match Cook solve separate timing jobs. You can set different functions, temperatures or durations in the two drawers and use Smart Finish when you want the two zones to finish together. Match Cook copies one zone's settings to the other when you are splitting a similar batch. Either feature coordinates the two baskets; neither can assign different settings to the two levels inside a single basket. If you mainly cook a large amount of one food, Match Cook may be useful. If you regularly make a protein and a side with different needs, Smart Finish is the more relevant control.

Care and material questions

The owner guide identifies nonstick baskets, crisper plates and stacked meal racks. It says these removable pieces can go in a dishwasher, while recommending hand-washing to help extend their life. The main unit and control panel should be wiped rather than immersed or placed in a dishwasher. Those distinctions matter with a four-piece cooking setup: the extra racks add flexibility, but also add parts to wash and store. The maker describes the outer main unit as plastic; the exact pages reviewed do not identify the basket substrate, coating chemistry or an explicit PFAS-free status. Do not translate “nonstick” into a claim about a particular material formulation.

The owner guide lists a 120-volt, 60-hertz, 1,690-watt supply. SharkNinja lists a one-year limited warranty, 23.15-pound appliance weight and a 32-inch cord. These are maker specifications, not measurements from a test bench. The owner guide also says to let the hot accessories cool and place them on a heat-resistant surface. Anyone short on accessible counter space should consider the height, drawer extension and accessory storage together rather than comparing quart totals alone.

Who should compare the SL201 with another layout?

The SL201 is worth considering when two real drawers, independently selected settings, synchronized finish and extra rack layers address separate parts of your routine. It is less compelling when you need a built-in food probe: the package and guide do not list one. The SL451 is the closest same-family comparison, adding two more quarts and a Smart Cook thermometer, but it is larger and its probe has a zone limitation; see the SL451 review. If you want one broad open cooking area rather than two smaller baskets, compare a one-drawer dual-zone design such as the COSORI TwinFry, whose divider changes the one-basket plan. A countertop oven offers a different cavity and rack arrangement again.

Choose by the way food is divided and by the available counter, not just the “four foods” phrase. Two baskets can run separate programs; two levels inside one basket remain one program. The maker’s product page and its SL200 Series owner guide are the relevant sources for this exact SL201 package and operating plan.

Sources: SharkNinja’s SL201 U.S. product page; SharkNinja’s SL201 product-support record; and the Ninja-authored SL200 Series Owner’s Guide (document code SL200Series_IB_MP_Mv6).

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units2
Maximum independent cooking zones2
Combined nominal capacity8 qt
Connected app controlsNo
Highest documented setting450°F
Cooking functionsThe exact page and SL200 Series guide list six functions. Air Broil is preset at 450°F; Dehydrate uses multi-hour timing. No mode-wide full adjustable range is inferred.
Basket and crisper-plate materialNonstick removable baskets/plates/racks are documented; material substrate, coating chemistry and explicit PFAS-free status remain unknown.
Exact configuration noteExact SL201 U.S. model: two 4-qt baskets (8 qt total) and one removable stacked meal rack in each drawer; each drawer is one independently set zone.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1690 W
Listed supply120 V~ 60 Hz; 1,690 W per SL200 Series Owner’s Guide
Included integrated food probeNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.