Model assessment · Philips

Philips Avance Collection Airfryer TurboStar HD9641/96, /66, /56 and /26 review

Earlier Philips Avance single-basket fryer variants with a digital display and tactile QuickControl dial, four manual-named presets, a fixed 30-minute keep-warm mode and QuickClean basket. Exact /96, /66, /56 and /26 suffix details remain distinct. The page-7 /56 and /26 tables list 120 V / 1,425 W but literally print “50/;60 Hz”; treat that string as ambiguous. /56 lists a splatter-proof lid, while /26 support lists recipe booklets but no full user manual.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier U.S.-listed Avance TurboStar codes include black HD9641/96 and /56, and white /66 and /26; image and technical-sheet finish conflicts are noted for /66. Exact suffix matters: /56 and /26 list 120 V, but their “50/;60 Hz” field is ambiguous; /96 supply is not available from its usable exact sheet.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Philips Avance HD9641/96 single-basket air fryer with a front digital display and rotary QuickControl dial
Image source and model notes
Philips labels this the exact HD9641/96 standard product photo. It shows the dark body, digital panel, physical dial and one opaque pull-out basket; Philips does not state photo-versus-render status. Philips U.S. exact HD9641/96 product page
A useful fit for

An existing-owner or earlier-model comparison for someone who values a digital readout, a tactile QuickControl dial, four food-specific presets, fixed keep-warm and a removable QuickClean basket. It is not a current-availability claim.

The main tradeoff

This remains an earlier-model one-basket review, not a stock claim. Exact /96 supply is unknown; /56 and /26 have ambiguous frequency text. Nominal quart volume, coating chemistry, current stock and recall determination remain unresolved.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would one digital display and tactile QuickControl dial suit your routine?

Exact /96 documentation supports one digital display/dial interface, one 0.8 kg basket, four named presets and one shared cook.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want fixed keep-warm rather than a second cooking zone?

The exact manual describes a fixed 30-minute Keep Warm function. It does not create another independently set cooking zone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do the exact documents need to prove 120 V / 60 Hz or a quart capacity?

The /96 page says 1,425 W and 0.8 kg; its exact technical PDF endpoint returned a loading page. Voltage, frequency and quart volume are not established.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is dishwasher cleaning of the removable pan/basket important?

The exact page and support-linked manual support dishwasher cleaning of the cooled removable pan and basket; they do not identify coating chemistry or an explicit PFAS-free surface.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Avance Collection Airfryer HD9641/96 is an earlier black, single-basket TurboStar fryer. Philips's exact U.S. product page identifies the suffix as discontinued and lists a 0.8 kg load, 1,425 W, QuickControl, and a QuickClean basket. The support-linked 62-page manual names HD9641/96 among its covered suffixes. This model is useful as a well-documented comparison or for someone checking an existing unit, but the discontinued page is not proof of current stock.

Black Philips Avance HD9641/96 air fryer with a digital display, rotary QuickControl dial, and one pull-out basket
Image source and model notes
Philips's exact HD9641/96 page calls this the standard product photo. It shows the dark Avance body, front display and one basket drawer. Philips does not state whether the studio image is a photograph or a rendering.

A digital display operated through a dial

QuickControl is not a bare mechanical timer knob. The manual shows a display for temperature and time, buttons for power, temperature, timer, presets and keep-warm, plus a rotary dial used to move through or change selections. If you want to avoid menu navigation entirely, it is a different experience from a two-dial Viva model. The manual documents four preset choices: frozen French fries, chicken drumsticks, fish, and chops or cutlets. In preset mode you can change the recommended time, but not the preset temperature. Choose the unit because those shortcuts are useful—not because four programs promise sensor-based cooking or guarantee a result for every ingredient size.

Philips lists a 0.8 kg capacity and says this is enough for up to 800 g of fries. That is a maker-stated food quantity, not a quart figure or a universal serving count. Leave room for the airflow and use the food table for the specific ingredient. The manual says to shake or turn appropriate larger batches and gives different amounts and times for different foods. It also says preheating is not necessary; that does not mean every recipe uses the same time.

One drawer, with a QuickClean basket

The cooking plan is one physical drawer and one shared setting at a time. Philips's QuickClean basket has a removable nonstick mesh, and the exact product page says the drawer and food basket are dishwasher-safe. The 0.8 kg basket still does not make two simultaneous schedules. For two dishes that need independent temperatures or separate end times, choose a real dual-zone layout such as the COSORI TWINFRY instead.

The exact support page presents a double-layer rack and baking accessory among compatible parts, not as a guaranteed part of every /96 package. A rack can add a cooking level but does not make a second zone. Before buying an older unit, confirm the printed suffix and inspect which accessories are actually present. The product page's nominal 0.8 kg load does not verify a quart minimum; Philips's exact technical-sheet link did not provide a usable PDF in this archive. Keep temperature range, electrical voltage/frequency, coating chemistry, and PFAS-free status unknown unless you find an exact-source label or statement for the appliance in front of you.

Keep-warm and cleanup are bounded features

The manual gives keep-warm a fixed 30-minute timer that cannot be adjusted. That is a short holding mode after cooking, not a second heating compartment. It also warns that the pan and basket have nonstick surfaces: let them cool and avoid metal tools and abrasive cleaners. The manual does not identify the coating material. Philips's free recipe app is inspiration; neither the exact U.S. page nor the model manual documents remote monitoring or phone-based start for HD9641/96.

The white HD9641/66 is a separate suffix, not a recolor assumption

Philips’s U.S. all-products row and the exact /66 gallery identify a white HD9641/66 body, while one technical-sheet design-color field says black. The visible page and image agree on white; the sheet still makes it important to verify the suffix and finish on an older unit. Its specification lists the same 0.8 kg basket and 1,425 W rating, but also names a splatter-proof lid and recipe booklet among included accessories. Those pieces are listed for /66, not automatically for /96; with a used fryer, inspect the actual package rather than assume the accessories survived.

White Philips Avance HD9641/66 air fryer with digital display, QuickControl dial and one basket
Image source and model notes
Philips’s exact HD9641/66 gallery labels this a front product photo. The /66 technical sheet has a conflicting black design-color field; Philips does not say whether its isolated product image is a photograph or a render.
Black Philips Avance HD9641/56 single-basket air fryer with a digital display and QuickControl dial
Image source and model notes
Philips’s exact /56 gallery supplies this black digital-control asset. It matches the suffix page; the manufacturer does not clarify photography versus rendering.

The /66 sheet gives 120 V and 1,425 W, but prints frequency as “50/;60 Hz,” which is not clear enough to treat as a verified 60 Hz statement. The newer page-7 rows add black HD9641/56 and white /26; their exact technical tables also say 120 V / 1,425 W and literally print “50/;60 Hz.” Treat that repeated ambiguous string as unresolved, not as clean proof of 60 Hz. Philips’s exact /56 page explicitly lists a splatter-proof lid, while the /26 support list has recipe booklets but no full manual; neither package detail should be copied to the other code. The /26 gallery is byte-identical to the white /66 asset, but /26 keeps its own exact support, electrical and inclusion record. The /96 sheet link remains unavailable, and no `/99` electrical rating is transferred to these variants.

Who this earlier Philips suits

The HD9641/96 makes sense in an earlier-model comparison for someone who values a digital readout, a tactile QuickControl dial, four time-adjustable presets, fixed keep-warm, and dishwasher-cleanable basket parts. It is a poor fit for a shopper who needs two zones, a named capacity in quarts, an explicit PFAS-free surface statement, remote control, or exact documented 120 V / 60 Hz. Unknown electrical values should not be borrowed from a suffix-neighbor. Philips marks the U.S. offer discontinued, so check the physical label and basket condition; an exact code in a listing does not establish what a seller still has. For an actively sold model, compare the current Philips NA331/00 or another exact current U.S. listing on capacity, controls, and care rather than treating this older fryer as current stock.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Basket and crisper-plate materialPhilips says nonstick, but the exact model source does not identify coating chemistry or state that food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free.
Exact configuration noteTwo earlier Avance TurboStar codes share one small digital/QuickControl basket arrangement: black HD9641/96 and white HD9641/66 in Philips’s page and gallery (one /66 sheet design field says black). The exact /96 voltage is unstated; /66 frequency text is ambiguous.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
More specifications and setup details
Listed power1425 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.