Model assessment · Philips

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9867/16 review

A single-basket Philips Premium XXL with five Smart Chef food programs for named foods. The exact Philips U.S. product table states 120 V / 60 Hz / 1,725 W; the product page uses both 7 qt / 3 lb and 7.3 L / up to 1.4 kg capacity descriptions.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9867/16, black and black-chrome one-drawer air fryer with digital controls and central dial
Philips’s exact HD9867/16 gallery asset, alt-labelled HD9867_16_NAM__F_RGB. The black, black-chrome single-drawer body and digital central dial match the exact product page. Philips does not disclose whether this studio image is a photograph or a render. Philips U.S. exact HD9867/16 product page gallery
A useful fit for

A household that wants one relatively large pull-out basket, local digital controls and Smart Chef assistance for Philips's five named food groups. The exact U.S. Philips table documents 120 V / 60 Hz, while the large single drawer still uses one shared temperature and timer.

The main tradeoff

It is not a dual-basket solution: foods with different settings need separate batches. Smart Chef is limited to five supported food groups and must not be interrupted during its calculation phase. Philips's 7 qt / 3 lb and 7.3 L / up to 1.4 kg descriptions are manufacturer labels, not a tested load; full temperature limits, coating chemistry/PFAS and remote app controls remain unconfirmed. The exact page and linked NAM manual disagree on warranty duration.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would one large basket and one shared schedule fit your usual meal?

HD9867/16 has one opaque pull-out basket and one zone. Philips labels it 7 qt / 3 lb and separately uses 7.3 L / up to 1.4 kg capacity copy; that is not a second basket or a tested single-layer load.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want Smart Chef to adjust cooking for one of Philips's supported foods?

Philips support specifically lists five programs: frozen fries, homemade fries, fish, drumsticks and whole chicken. The model-linked family instructions say not to open the drawer while the calculation bars blink; continue in manual mode if the calculation is interrupted.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need two separate baskets that can run on different schedules?

No. The exact Philips code has a single basket and one zone. It cannot independently time a main and side; the COSORI CAF-R901-AUS is a separate two-basket alternative.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the exact Philips documentation state both 120 V and 60 Hz?

The HD9867/16 technical table states 120 V / 60 Hz and 1,725 W. That is exact model documentation; check the actual appliance label if buying used or refurbished.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is an explicitly PFAS-free food-contact surface or a defined low-temperature setting essential?

The exact page and linked family manual describe nonstick parts but not their coating chemistry or a model-specific PFAS-free claim. They also do not establish a full minimum temperature range; unknowns do not satisfy a hard material or low-temperature requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9867/16 is a large single-drawer fryer with a digital panel and central QuickControl dial. Its exact Philips U.S. product table lists 120 V, 60 Hz and 1,725 W, so it clears a documented domestic-supply requirement that is missing from several similarly named Philips references. It is still one cooking zone: the Smart Chef feature adjusts a supported program, but it does not turn the XXL drawer into two independently timed baskets.

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9867/16, black one-drawer appliance with digital central dial
Philips’s exact HD9867/16 page gallery image. Philips does not say whether this studio image is a photograph or a rendered product image.

A roomy format with several capacity labels

Philips’s U.S. page identifies this code as a black, black-chrome 3 lb / 7 qt model. Other feature copy on the same exact page describes a 7.3 L basket, up to 1.4 kg of fries and up to six portions. These are manufacturer capacity descriptions, not a measured cooking area or a promise that every dense load will brown evenly. The labels are close but not identical; keep the exact model identity and do not convert them into a more precise capacity than Philips provides.

The support-linked HD986X family manual adds practical boundaries. Its food tables give batch ranges and advise shaking larger loads. That is a better starting point than treating “XXL” as permission to fill the basket to the rim. It suits a household that wants one larger batch, but foods that need different temperatures or timing still require separate rounds.

Smart Chef helps with five specific foods

Philips’s support answer that explicitly applies to HD9867/16 describes five Smart Chef choices: frozen fries, homemade fries, fish, chicken drumsticks and whole chicken. For a whole chicken, the instructions ask you to weigh the bird first. After a choice is confirmed, the fryer estimates time and temperature and may adjust the time during its calculation phase. This is bounded automatic cooking, not a general recipe sensor for every ingredient.

Watch the display during that phase. The linked HD986X North American manual says not to pull the drawer while the bars are blinking: opening it stops the program, and restarting Smart Chef with partly cooked food can lead to a wrong estimate. Continue in manual mode instead if that happens or if the food needs more browning. The manual also calls for starting Smart Chef from room temperature without preheating and says to keep the fat reducer correctly placed; do not use accessories with those automatic programs. Philips lists XXL baking, grill and snack kits as compatible products, but the exact product page does not say they are included in the box.

Local settings, app boundary, and holding food

For other foods, the QuickControl dial and separate time and temperature controls provide a manual route, and a favorite setting can be saved. The exact Philips page does not publish a full adjustable temperature range or timer range, so a strict low-temperature or long-dehydration requirement remains unconfirmed. Manual temperature control does not establish a dedicated Dehydrate or Proof mode.

The product page references the HomeID recipe library and lists a HomeID App feature, but those sources do not establish remote start, phone-based setting changes or live monitoring for this exact configuration. Treat it as a locally controlled appliance unless Philips confirms a specific connected function for the exact code. Keep Warm is documented separately: it can be set from 1 to 30 minutes, with 30 minutes as the default. The family manual says it is intended to hold a freshly cooked dish, not reheat cold food; crisp foods may soften if held too long.

Cleaning is manageable, but the coating disclosure is limited

The linked family manual identifies a pan, basket with removable mesh bottom and fat reducer. It allows the pan, basket and fat reducer to be cleaned in a dishwasher or by hand with hot water, dish soap and a non-abrasive sponge. Grease can collect below the reducer, so let the parts cool before cleaning, remove the residue after fatty batches, and use rubber-tipped tongs if the reducer is still hot. The manual warns against metal utensils and abrasive cleaning materials on the nonstick surfaces.

Neither the exact product table nor the linked HD986X manual names the nonstick chemistry or makes a model-specific PFAS-free statement. If an explicit material disclosure is essential, unknown is not a match. Philips does identify the main body as plastic and the finish as deep black with black chrome.

Check the space, warranty, and exact suffix

Philips lists dimensions of 12.64 × 17.04 × 12.64 inches, weight of 18.3 lb and a 31.5-inch cord. Leave space in front for the drawer. If separate meal settings matter, the COSORI CAF-R901-AUS has two baskets and synchronized finish. For a one-basket model with a disclosed low-end temperature, the COSORI TurboBlaze KUS documents a 90 °F minimum, while Philips’s exact range here remains unpublished.

Confirm the full code before buying: HD9867/16 is not the same listing as HD9867/16R0 or HD9867/90. The exact product page promotes a two-year warranty, but the linked North American HD986X manual says one year; check the terms that apply to the unit and seller rather than assuming those sources agree. The Philips and CPSC checks made for this review did not surface an HD9867/16-specific recall notice, but that limited search is not recall clearance. For a prospective purchase, use the exact-code search and verify the unit’s rating plate and warranty documents.

Manufacturer sources: Philips HD9867/16 product page, its support profile, the model-specific Smart Sensing instructions and the HD986X North American family manual. The manual cover names HD986X, not the /16 suffix.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Combined nominal capacity7 qt
Cooking functionsThe exact product page and linked HD986X family manual support air frying and the named family cooking methods; Smart Chef is a bounded five-food automatic program. Keep Warm is documented for holding cooked food, not reheating. No exact-source Dehydrate, Proof, steam or independent second-zone function is established.
Basket and crisper-plate materialPhilips identifies nonstick cooking parts but does not disclose the HD9867/16 coating chemistry or make an exact-model PFAS-free claim. Unknown material disclosure cannot meet an explicit requirement.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1725 W
Listed supply120 V / 60 Hz

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.