Model assessment · Philips

Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/56 review

An earlier, discontinued U.S.-listed Viva Collection single-basket air fryer with local analogue controls, a 0–30-minute timer and temperature control to 390°F; the exact U.S. product page does not state its electrical rating or capacity.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Preserve the /56 suffix. Philips’ U.S. product page describes the finish as white/silver, while another Philips specification record says white/lavender. The written finish is unsettled; the exact model image shows a white body with silver-tone-looking trim.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/56, white/silver, single pull-out basket with analogue controls
Image source and model notes
Philips U.S. exact /56 product page labels the model white/silver. The product image is the same byte-identical Philips gallery asset already archived from the /58 page; color text in the indexed /56 technical record conflicts and its document is inaccessible. Philips U.S. exact HD9220/56 product page
A useful fit for

An earlier one-basket model to consider only when you want local physical dials and do not need a verified capacity or electrical rating. The exact Philips U.S. page marks the HD9220/56 discontinued and lists a 30-minute timer and temperature control up to 390°F; the page-linked Viva family manual gives practical shaking and dishwasher-care instructions.

The main tradeoff

The exact U.S. product page does not state electrical rating or capacity, so this model should fail hard requirements for a confirmed 120 V / 60 Hz supply, minimum basket volume, dimensions, or coating chemistry rather than borrow another suffix’s data. Philips marks it discontinued; its written finish descriptions conflict, and current availability, warranty and recall status are unresolved.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would an earlier single-basket Philips with physical dials suit you if exact capacity and electrical rating are not essential?

The exact HD9220/56 page confirms a discontinued U.S.-listed Viva model with one basket, local analogue time and temperature controls, a timer to 30 minutes and temperature to 390°F. Its exact capacity and electrical specification are not verified.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the exact model documentation state both 120 V and 60 Hz?

Philips’ exact /56 product page does not state voltage, frequency or wattage. This model cannot meet a hard documented 120 V / 60 Hz requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require manufacturer instructions allowing the removable cooking pan and basket in a dishwasher?

The exact /56 Canadian support page links the Philips Viva family manual, which says the pan and basket are dishwasher-safe. The manual cover is family-level and does not print /56.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a named coating chemistry or explicit PFAS-free statement essential?

The page-linked family manual describes nonstick-coated pan and basket surfaces but does not name the chemistry or say PFAS-free. Treat that requirement as unknown for HD9220/56.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/56 is a discontinued U.S.-listed model for shoppers who specifically want a simple, single-drawer fryer with physical controls. Philips’ U.S. product page confirms the suffix, marks it discontinued, and describes a manual timer and temperature setting; it does not establish current stock, a present warranty, or the electrical rating of an individual used unit. Treat this as an earlier-model reference, not a current-product recommendation.

What the exact model does

The /56 uses Philips’ Rapid Air approach in a pull-out pan and basket. The exact Philips product page advertises air frying, baking, roasting and grilling. It sets expectations for a timer of up to 30 minutes and a temperature control reaching 390°F. The family user manual linked by Philips from this exact /56 support page shows a thermostat knob and a timer/power knob. There is no documented digital menu, saved preset, app control, or second cooking zone. The manual control scheme is easy to understand, but a recipe that runs longer than half an hour needs an attended second timer setting.

The fryer’s one-pan routine is more important than the marketing list of cooking methods. You choose a temperature, turn the timer, and pull out the drawer to shake foods when needed. The manual says to add three minutes when starting cold and allows optional empty preheating by running the timer beyond three minutes; this is not a separate preheat program. It warns against exceeding the basket’s MAX mark and recommends shaking overlapping foods partway through. That makes small, loose batches a more natural plan than a meal needing two foods cooked independently and finished together.

Capacity and electrical limits are not interchangeable facts

Philips’ exact U.S. product page does not state the HD9220/56’s basket capacity, voltage, frequency, wattage, or dimensions. The separate U.S.-listed HD9220/58 has its own product sheet, but a similar code is not evidence that /56 has the same rating. If confirmed 120 V / 60 Hz, a known basket size, or a particular counter footprint is essential, the /56 should not pass that filter until its rating plate or exact-model documentation verifies it.

The exact /56 support page on Philips Canada does link a Philips Viva Collection user manual. Its cover is family-level and names the broader HD9220 family rather than printing /56. It provides practical operating instructions but should not be mistaken for a /56 rating label. The manual says its temperature range is 180–390°F, tells users not to put oil in the pan, and explains how to lift the basket out to serve food without tipping the pan’s collected drippings over it. These are useful instructions for the page-linked family plan, not a substitute for missing electrical or capacity evidence.

Cleaning and coating questions

The linked manual describes nonstick-coated pan and basket surfaces, says both removable parts are dishwasher-safe, and cautions against metal utensils and abrasive cleaners. It advises cooling the appliance before cleaning and removing grease from the pan after use. Philips does not name this model’s coating chemistry or state that its surfaces are PFAS-free. If an explicit coating-chemistry or PFAS-free disclosure is essential, unknown is not a pass. The manual’s printed limited warranty is historical guidance only; it cannot establish coverage for a discontinued, second-hand unit today.

How questionnaire answers should change the match

When you opt in to earlier models and want one simple basket, analogue temperature and time controls, and the documented 30-minute/390°F operating range, the HD9220/56 can fit that narrow plan. It should be excluded when a confirmed 120 V / 60 Hz supply, a measured capacity, a window, two independent baskets, Wi-Fi, a dehydration mode, or an explicit PFAS-free statement is an essential condition. Those are not known or documented features of the /56. The exact page also says discontinued, so a past manufacturer listing is not proof that a new unit or replacement parts are available.

Do not treat the nearby HD9220/58 as the same suffix. It is another earlier U.S.-listed Viva model and has its own Philips product sheet, but its ratings and stated 28-ounce basket cannot be transferred to /56. Philips’ exact-page text and a separate specification record disagree on the /56 finish—white/silver versus white/lavender—so treat the color as unresolved. The product-page image shows a white-bodied appliance with silver-tone-looking trim; Philips does not describe how the image was made.

Who should keep it in the comparison?

Keep the /56 in view if you are comparing a used Viva model and value physical controls more than current support, extra capacity, or synchronized cooking. Before buying second-hand, confirm the complete suffix on the appliance, inspect the rating plate, check the pan and basket coating, and verify that needed parts are actually obtainable. Do not rely on color alone: Philips gives inconsistent written descriptions of the finish.

If you want a more recent compact single-basket alternative with a published electrical specification, compare the COSORI Lite Mini CAF-LI211-KUS. Its documented plan is different: a nominal 2.1-quart basket, digital controls, and a 1–60-minute timer. That makes it easier to match when a 120 V / 60 Hz line or longer single-cycle timer is non-negotiable, but it gives up the /56’s analogue dial feel. The available manufacturer information does not establish a performance advantage either way. It is about whether you can verify the exact used /56 configuration and whether its basic one-basket routine suits your actual constraints.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Connected app controlsNo
Lowest documented setting180°F
Highest documented setting390°F
Cooking functionsThe exact U.S. Philips page names air frying, baking, grilling and roasting; it documents no dedicated Dehydrate mode.
More specifications and setup details
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe linked Philips family manual describes the pan and basket as nonstick-coated. It does not name coating chemistry or state PFAS-free status.
Exact configuration notePreserve the /56 suffix. The exact U.S. page says white/silver. A Philips indexed exact-code specification record says white/lavender, but its direct file is unavailable; the gallery image shows white with silver-tone-looking trim and is the same byte asset shown on a separate /58 page.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.