On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would one modest pull-out basket with two local physical dials work, or are digital controls or separate cooking zones essential?
The exact HD9220/58 has one basket and one cooking zone with local analogue time and temperature knobs. It is an earlier, discontinued model, so it appears only if you opt into earlier models.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the exact model documentation state both 120 V and 60 Hz?
The exact Philips model sheet states 120 V and a 50/60 Hz frequency range, so both required published values are present. It does not verify a particular used unit’s rating plate.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require a manufacturer instruction that allows the removable cooking pan or basket to go in a dishwasher?
Yes. Philips links its Viva Collection manual from the exact HD9220/58 support page; the manual says the pan and basket are dishwasher-safe, though the manual cover is family-level rather than suffix-specific.
Explore this need in the finder →Is an explicit manufacturer statement that the food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free essential?
The exact Philips page-linked manual describes nonstick-coated parts but does not identify coating chemistry or say PFAS-free. This requirement is unknown for HD9220/58 and must not be treated as met.
Explore this need in the finder →The HD9220/58 is an older, discontinued Viva Collection air fryer for someone who wants a small single basket and straightforward physical controls. Philips’ exact U.S. product page identifies this white model and labels it discontinued. Its specification sheet lists a 28-ounce basket, 120 V, 50/60 Hz and 1,425 W. This is an earlier-model reference, not a claim about current stock or availability.
What the exact code describes
This is a one-drawer, one-zone air fryer, not a divided dual-zone machine. The product page describes manual time and temperature adjustment; the Philips user manual linked from this exact support page shows a temperature knob and a timer/power knob. The manual gives a 180–390°F temperature range and a 0–30-minute timer. There is no separate preset screen, second cooking zone or documented Dehydrate mode. The automatic shut-off timer has a ready signal, but its 30-minute limit means a longer recipe requires a second attended setting rather than a single uninterrupted cycle.
Capacity needs a little care in translation. Philips’ exact-model sheet calls the basket 28 ounces, which is about 0.8 kg by mass; that is not a quart-volume figure or a serving guarantee. The linked manual’s food chart treats portions by ingredient. For crisp homemade fries it gives 0.45 kg as the optimal amount, with smaller amounts for some other foods. A shopper expecting a full family side dish from a nominal “large” basket should plan on batches instead.
How the routine works
The appeal is its uncomplicated sequence: set the temperature dial, set the timer, then pull out the pan and shake when a recipe calls for it. The manual says to add three minutes when starting cold and permits an empty preheat by running the timer for more than three minutes. That is a manual option, not a separate automatic preheat program. Frozen fries and small snacks that need one temperature and one mid-cook shake are a more natural fit than a meal requiring two foods to finish together at different settings.
For fresh fries, the manual recommends soaking, drying, and tossing the cut potatoes with a small amount of oil; it does not promise the same result for every cut or load. Its recipe chart is a starting point, not a guarantee. Small pieces can brown unevenly when piled, so the one-zone layout and hands-on shaking are part of the cooking plan. The plastic-bodied housing is listed in Philips’ sheet; the removable pan and basket are described as nonstick-coated in the manual.
Cleaning and material limits
The exact support page links a Philips Viva Collection manual titled for the family rather than printing the /58 suffix on its cover. The manual says the pan and basket may be washed in a dishwasher and cautions against abrasive cleaning and metal utensils. Cool and unplug the appliance before cleaning, and wipe the fixed housing rather than immersing it. This is useful care guidance for the exact page-linked configuration, but it does not identify the coating chemistry. Philips does not state that this model’s food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free in the sources reviewed here. If that disclosure is essential, unknown is not a pass.
What changes when your answers change
If one basket, analogue dials and an earlier-model comparison suit you, the /58 can fit that plan. Its exact Philips technical sheet states both 120 V and 50/60 Hz, so it passes a documentation filter requiring 120 V and 60 Hz. That is a published model specification, not a check of an individual used unit’s rating plate. It also differs from the separately reviewed HD9220/36: Philips’ /36 technical table lists 110 V rather than the /58 sheet’s 120 V. The suffix is important; do not shop by a similar-looking HD9220 listing alone.
Other answers should move you elsewhere. A digital interface, window, larger quart-rated basket, or two independently controlled zones calls for a different configuration; the /58 has no documented basis for those needs. If two independent baskets matter, compare a current dual-basket model such as the COSORI Dual Basket CAF-R901-AUS. If a manufacturer’s explicit PFAS-free surface statement is essential, the COSORI TurboBlaze CAF-DC601-KUS is a more relevant documented alternative; that claim should not be transferred to Philips.
Who should keep it in the comparison?
Consider the HD9220/58 only when you intentionally include discontinued U.S. models and want a modest one-batch routine with local dials. Philips marks it discontinued, so an archived page is not evidence that a new unit is sold or that a used listing is complete. The specification sheet calls the finish white/silver while the exact U.S. product-page copy says white; the archived gallery image shows a white body with silver-tone trim, but the manufacturer does not disclose whether the studio image is a photograph or render. Exact package contents, present warranty coverage, recall clearance for this suffix, and nonstick chemistry remain unresolved. For a used appliance, confirm the full code, rating plate, basket/pan condition and available parts before relying on it. If you need a current recommendation, documented material disclosure, or a larger capacity, compare current exact models rather than treating this earlier product as a substitute.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Lowest documented setting | 180°F |
| Highest documented setting | 390°F |
| Cooking functions | Philips’ exact U.S. page lists air frying, baking, grilling and roasting. A dedicated Dehydrate program is not documented. |
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The page-linked Philips manual describes a nonstick-coated drawer and basket and permits dishwasher cleaning. It does not name coating chemistry or state that food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. |
More specifications and setup details
| Exact configuration note | The exact product page says white, while the exact model sheet says white/silver. The full suffix matters: HD9220/58 is not interchangeable with HD9220/36 or /56 by family name alone. |
|---|---|
| See-through cooking window | No |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
| Listed power | 1425 W |
| Listed supply | 120 V / 50–60 Hz |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Philips U.S. Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/58 product page
- Philips U.S. support page for exact HD9220/58; links a Viva Collection user manual
- Philips HD9220/58 Airfryer technical specification sheet
- Philips Viva Collection Airfryer user manual linked from exact HD9220/58 support page; family-level title, not suffix printed on cover
- Philips U.S. air-fryer all-products directory page 2 row HD9220/58
- Philips U.S. exact HD9220/58 product gallery image
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.
