Model assessment · Philips

Philips Viva Collection Digital Airfryer HD9230/56 review

A discontinued digital Viva single-basket model with an included double-layer rack and an exact advertised 60-minute timer.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Philips Viva Collection Digital Airfryer HD9230/56 with a single pull-out basket; exact visible control details are described in the image note
Philips U.S. gallery image for the exact HD9230/56 page, archived unchanged. A white digital-screen fryer and a separate upper rack are shown; the manual and specification describe one cooking zone. Philips does not disclose whether this is photography or a render. Philips U.S. — exact HD9230/56 product page
A useful fit for

Someone comparing an earlier digital panel and the included upper rack for food that benefits from a second physical level, without expecting a second independent temperature zone or a family-size basket.

The main tradeoff

The rack adds vertical placement, not a second cooking zone; basket capacity remains 0.8 kg. Philips records conflict on voltage and power details, the electrical frequency is not confirmed, and the unit is discontinued.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is one cooking area enough, or do two dishes need separate settings at the same time?

A digital one-basket plan with rack and 60-minute timer; do not match an essential domestic electrical rating against conflicting source records.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a digital front-panel setting routine be useful?

Yes. Philips identifies local digital controls for this exact model; do not infer phone control or remote start.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the manufacturer’s linked care document permit dishwasher cleaning of the cooking parts?

Yes for the named removable pan and basket (and, for the HD9230/56, its included rack) after cooling. It does not identify coating chemistry.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can you accept an unresolved exact electrical rating?

No for a strict essential requirement: the archived 2023 sheet and an inaccessible indexed sheet conflict, so the 120 V / 60 Hz matcher condition remains unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Viva Collection Digital Airfryer HD9230/56 is an earlier, discontinued white one-basket model whose case is a digital control panel and an included double-layer rack, not a larger chamber. Philips lists an 0.8 kg basket and a timer up to 60 minutes. Its exact support page links a product-specific digital-air-fryer manual describing arrow-button time and temperature settings, the rack, and dishwasher cleaning of the pan, basket and rack. Electrical documentation is less clean: the archived exact Philips sheet states 110 V / 1,425 W, while another exact model-sheet URL indexed by Philips is still retrievable only as a 404 source and reports a different voltage. I therefore do not call the electrical rating settled or treat a strict 120 V / 60 Hz need as met.

Rack gives a second level, not a second zone

The basket remains a single 0.8 kg cooking arrangement. The included rack places some food above the basket bottom and can make better use of the available vertical space for foods that suit that placement. It does not turn the appliance into two independently controlled drawers: temperature and time remain common to the cooking chamber, and a user cannot set different programs for the upper and lower layer. Philips’ manual explicitly says to clean the basket, rack and pan, and it warns that some foods need to be shaken midway; its note cautions against shaking while using the double-layer rack. Use the rack as the manual describes rather than assuming it doubles the supported capacity.

The 0.8 kg figure is a load weight, not quart volume or a fixed meal count. Philips’ own guidance varies with ingredient type and calls for respecting the MAX mark. If your main goal is a whole family batch or separate main-and-side timing, compare a larger or genuinely dual-zone design instead of expecting an upper rack to provide independent heat control.

Digital controls make settings visible

The exact Philips sheet calls the interface a digital touchscreen, and the support-linked manual identifies a display, up/down buttons, a temperature/timer selector, start/pause and power controls. That provides a more explicit set-and-read routine than the analogue knobs on the HD9220/26 and HD9220/28. Philips lists air frying, baking, grilling and roasting. The official sheet calls out a preset cooking function, but it does not identify a menu count in the materials inspected here; do not infer that every food has its own automatic program. Nor does this panel establish app connectivity or remote start.

A 60-minute timer is longer than the 30-minute limit documented for the HD9220 pair, but it does not eliminate checks for doneness or the need to shake foods when the manual calls for it. The exact manual does not provide a published Fahrenheit temperature range in the material reviewed here. It confirms adjustable temperature, but a hard minimum/maximum-temperature filter remains unknown. If a specific low or high setting is essential, compare a model whose exact manual publishes that value.

Do not paper over the electrical conflict

The locally archived 2023 Philips sheet for HD9230/56 lists 110 V, 1,425 W and does not state frequency. It also includes a confusing “1400 W power” promotional heading. A second Philips specification asset found for the exact code reports 120 V but returned HTTP 404 when opened, so it could not be archived or checked against the current product sheet. The available exact evidence therefore conflicts; this assessment does not silently choose whichever value is convenient. A strict requirement that a current exact source show both 120 V and 60 Hz fails. Verify the rating plate on any particular used unit and do not borrow an electrical value from an HD9230/26 or /56 package with a different model label.

Philips marks this exact product discontinued. That is a reason to keep it in an earlier-model comparison only, not a statement about current stock. The standard manufacturer image attached to the HD9230/56 product page shows a white digital drawer fryer with the included rack pictured. The maker does not say whether the studio asset is a photograph or CGI. Current resale condition, missing accessories, price and remaining warranty are not established.

Cleaning and surface limits

The support-linked exact manual says the pan, basket and double-layer rack can be cleaned in a dishwasher after use and cooling. It recommends non-abrasive hand washing and warns against metal utensils or harsh scouring on its nonstick coating. The exact materials do not state a PFAS-free claim or name the coating chemistry. If dishwasher care is essential, this model has a positive manual statement; if a PFAS-free declaration is essential, it does not. These are separate requirements, not interchangeable care claims.

For safety and performance, keep the unit on a level heat-resistant surface, leave the vents clear, do not put oil in the pan, and avoid overloading. The rack can help separate foods vertically, but it does not remove the manual’s handling instructions. Philips’ food settings are starting guidance; food size, load depth and moisture still matter.

Which alternative fits a different need?

The analogue HD9220/28 has a 28-ounce one-basket plan, two knobs and a cleaner 120 V / 50–60 Hz specification, but only a 30-minute timer and no included double-layer rack documented on its page. The HD9238/52 is another digital Viva variation with a variety basket and splatter-proof lid, though its accessible manual does not settle the same electrical details or a numeric temperature range. For a much bigger batch and an analogue rather than screen-based routine, compare the HD9630/28: its manual documents a large 7.3 L pan and up to 1.4 kg of fries, along with a fat reducer and removable mesh base. All are earlier exact configurations, so inspect the exact label and included parts before considering any secondhand unit.

White Philips Viva Collection HD9230/56 digital air fryer with its double-layer rack
Philips U.S. standard image from the exact HD9230/56 page, archived unchanged; it shows the white digital unit and double-layer rack. Philips does not disclose photo-versus-render status.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Cooking functionsPhilips documents the functions listed here for this exact model. A single basket and one zone remain the supported plan; no function creates separate independently controlled areas.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe retrieved exact manual describes nonstick cooking surfaces but does not identify coating chemistry or give an explicit PFAS-free statement.
Exact configuration noteA discontinued digital Viva single-basket model with an included double-layer rack and an exact advertised 60-minute timer. Exact suffix matters; no neighboring Philips configuration or seller bundle is assumed.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1425 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.