Model assessment · Philips

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/28, HD9630/98 and HD9630/96 review

White HD9630/28 and black HD9630/98 and HD9630/96 variants of one discontinued Philips Premium XXL single-pan design; the /96 page calls its controls digital while its exact sheet/image show analogue dials, and /98 and /96 quart headlines conflict with the detailed 7.3 L pan claim.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Review covers two exact discontinued finishes without erasing their suffixes: HD9630/28 (white) and HD9630/98 (black). Philips gives 7.3 L and 1.4 kg for both detailed pages, while the /98 headline also says 3 lb / 4 qt; quart capacity stays unknown.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/98 with one pull-out basket and analogue control dials; the manufacturer image includes a Reviewed 100 badge
This is Philips’s exact HD9630/98 standard/front product image; a Reviewed 100 badge is embedded in the source image and is not a result or rating made by this guide. Philips does not disclose photograph-versus-render status. Philips U.S. exact HD9630/98 product page
A useful fit for

A shopper comparing a larger single-basket batch, food-specific loading guidance and a fat reducer, who prefers two local dials over a digital interface and does not need separate meal zones.

The main tradeoff

The 7.3 L pan and Philips’ 1.4 kg fries-load statement belong to one cooking zone; they do not supply synchronized separate settings. Philips does not publish a quart figure or electrical voltage/frequency for this exact suffix, and the model is discontinued.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is one cooking area enough, or do two dishes need separate settings at the same time?

A large 7.3 L single-pan, analog routine; it must not satisfy two-zone or manufacturer-stated quart-volume requirements.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want local physical dials rather than a digital screen?

Yes. The exact model page and its linked operating instructions show local analogue controls; there is no second cooking zone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the manufacturer’s linked care document permit dishwasher cleaning of the cooking parts?

Yes for the named removable pan and basket (and, for the HD9230/56, its included rack) after cooling. It does not identify coating chemistry.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you rather use a large single pan, or must Philips give a quart figure?

Philips states 7.3 L and a separate 1.4 kg fries load, but no nominal quart volume; an exact quart requirement cannot use a converted value.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/28 (white), HD9630/98 (black) and HD9630/96 (black) are discontinued, earlier basket variants for shoppers comparing substantial single-batch capacity rather than dual-zone timing. Philips’s exact pages describe a 7.3 L pan, say it can fit a whole chicken or up to 1.4 kg of fries, and claim up to six portions. The /98 and /96 listings also headline “3lb/4qt,” a figure that conflicts with the detailed pan description; I keep quart capacity unknown rather than reconciling the manufacturer’s labels. Across the documented variants, the plan is one large pan, analogue controls, one fat reducer and one mesh basket—not two independent schedules.

XXL describes a one-pan batch, not two dinner zones

The 7.3 L number describes the pan volume; the separate 1.4 kg value is Philips’ fries-load limit. They answer different questions. Philips’ six-portion wording is its own serving estimate, not a promise that every dish feeds six. The manual’s chart varies by food: some amounts are limited by weight, others by count or a single layer. For larger fry batches it directs cooks to shake, turn or stir two to three times. A whole chicken fit claim also depends on its size and clearance from the heating element.

There is still one removable drawer, one basket and one temperature control. It will not cook vegetables at one setting and chicken at another simultaneously. The larger pan is for a bigger or more flexible single cooking plan. If two independently controlled zones matter more than total volume, a real dual-drawer or divided-zone product is the better category to compare.

The fat reducer changes setup and cleanup

The manual locates the fat reducer below the basket and says not to operate the pan without both parts in place. Rendered fat collects below; the mesh bottom lifts out for cleaning. Both parts are integral to the documented setup, not automatically optional accessories. Philips’ page also lists air frying, baking, grilling, roasting and reheating. No Dehydrate or Proof program is documented for the exact HD9630/28 materials.

Philips calls the design “Fat Removal technology,” describing separation and capture of rendered fat. This is a mechanical food-preparation feature, not a health guarantee. The unit still needs normal kitchen supervision, the removable parts are hot immediately after cooking, and grease should be handled only after the appliance has cooled enough for safe removal. The manual’s handling and cleaning sequence is more useful than a broad health claim.

Analogue operation is simple but hands-on

The exact HD9630/28 and /98 sheets and the /96 sheet identify analogue controls: temperature from 80 to 200°C (about 176–392°F) and a timer up to 60 minutes. The exact /96 product page copy calls its controls “Digital,” while its exact specification table says analogue and the exact front image shows two rotary dials. I use the detailed interface field and physical controls, while retaining the copy mismatch. The manual labels a timer/power-on knob and a temperature-control knob, recommends no preheating, and gives a food-specific chart rather than a stored program list. There is no touch menu, app, remote start, digital preset count or automatic dual-zone syncing. If you like dials and want a longer single run than a 30-minute timer, this is a better fit than the smaller HD9220/26 or /28. If you need an exact numeric minimum in Fahrenheit, use the source’s Celsius values or confirm how the dial is marked on the physical unit.

The manual emphasizes shaking or turning some loads, including large fry batches, and warns not to overfill past the MAX mark. The air fryer does not require preheating, but recipes are not self-correcting: food thickness, moisture, starting temperature and load depth still affect the result. Use a thermometer or food-safe doneness method where appropriate; no independent lab result is claimed here.

Dishwasher care and nonstick caution

The exact manual says the pan, basket, fat reducer and removable mesh parts can be washed in a dishwasher. It also describes their nonstick coating and advises against metal utensils or abrasive cleaning materials. After cooking, remove oil or rendered fat from the bottom of the pan and let all parts cool. Philips does not name the coating chemistry or state that food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. A buyer who requires that declaration should treat the material claim as unconfirmed, regardless of the fact that the parts are dishwasher-safe.

The exact /28 sheet says white; the /98 and /96 pages and their black-variant images establish different finishes without changing the one-pan plan. Philips lists 1,725 W for these sheets but does not state voltage or frequency, so a strict 120 V / 60 Hz requirement remains unconfirmed. The direct support page links a quick-start guide and the longer user manual; the quick-start cover names the HD9630–HD9639 family, while the manual itself is for the HD9630 series. No separate model-specific recall clearance or physical type-plate inspection was completed. Philips marks these listings discontinued; current resale stock, price, unit condition and warranty are not established.

What would make a different model better?

The Viva HD9230/56 is smaller, digital and includes a second rack level, but exact supply remains uncertain. The HD9220/28 is an analogue basket with documented 120 V / 50–60 Hz and a shorter 30-minute timer. Neither provides two independently timed foods; for that, compare COSORI CAF-R901-AUS. These are different layouts, not a universal ranking.

Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/28 white single-drawer fryer with analogue controls
Philips U.S. standard product image from the exact HD9630/28 page, archived unchanged and visually reviewed. It shows a white single-drawer unit with analogue controls; Philips does not disclose photography versus render status.
Black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/98 single-drawer fryer with an analogue timer dial
Philips’s exact HD9630/98 gallery supplies this front product image. The Reviewed 100 badge is part of Philips’s image file, not an assessment made by this guide; Philips does not disclose photo-versus-render status.
Black Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9630/96 with analogue temperature and timer dials
Philips’s exact HD9630/96 product page supplies this black two-dial image. Its exact specification sheet describes the analogue interface; the manufacturer does not identify photography versus rendering.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Lowest documented setting176°F
Highest documented setting392°F
Cooking functionsPhilips documents the functions listed here for this exact model. A single basket and one zone remain the supported plan; no function creates separate independently controlled areas.
Basket and crisper-plate materialThe retrieved exact manual describes nonstick cooking surfaces but does not identify coating chemistry or give an explicit PFAS-free statement.
Exact configuration noteA discontinued white/black Philips XXL family with one 7.3 L pan, analogue controls, a removable fat reducer and dishwasher-safe cooking parts. The /98 and /96 quart headline conflicts with detailed pan volume, so no nominal quart figure is used.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1725 W

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.