Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you want two oven cavities to cook different dishes at different settings and finish together?
The exact DCT871 page describes two independent ovens, different times and temperatures, and Smart Finish. It has an oven form, not two pull-out fryer drawers.
Explore this need in the finder →Would the included Pro Cook sensing system matter more than a fixed-time preset?
The exact U.S. page lists a Pro Cook Thermometer and Auto Temp Detect, and the compatible Ninja thermometer page identifies the leave-in sensor as integrated. Exact cavity/function pairing and automatic shutoff remain unknown, so check the DCT871 guide for your use.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a published 8-quart-or-larger nominal cavity capacity essential?
The manufacturer gives fit examples, including a 4.5-lb chicken and six slices of toast, but no quart or cubic-foot volume. A hard capacity minimum therefore cannot be treated as met; an oven with a stated nominal volume such as the COSORI CAF-R121-SUS is a better comparison.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the exact product documentation state both 120 V and 60 Hz?
The DCT871 U.S. page lists 120 volts, 1,800 watts and 15 amps but omits frequency. If 60 Hz must be documented, this exact page is insufficient even though its 120-V value is known.
Explore this need in the finder →The Ninja Double Oven Pro Cook Countertop Oven and Air Fryer (DCT871) is not a two-drawer fryer with one large basket capacity. It is a door-front countertop oven with separate upper and lower cooking cavities. Its clearest advantage is the choice to run either oven alone or cook different foods at different settings in both, then coordinate the ending with Smart Finish. That makes this an unusual fit for a household wanting two oven jobs in one appliance footprint, rather than a small single-task fryer.

Two oven jobs, one countertop appliance
The exact U.S. product page says you can use the top or bottom oven by itself, or cook two meals in different ways and at different temperatures and times. Smart Finish is intended to synchronize when those separate jobs are done. This is more substantial than a removable divider that merely keeps foods apart: the DCT871 is described as having two independent ovens. It is also different from a standard two-basket fryer. There are no pull-out basket drawers; instead, the page lists sheet pans, wire racks, an air-fry basket insert and a crumb tray for the oven cavities.
This layout suits meals with two different oven jobs, such as a main and a crisped side. If you usually cook one small portion, the second cavity may go unused. A single-basket model such as the Ninja AF181 is simpler; a one-cavity oven can suit cooks who want trays but not two separately timed spaces. Smart Finish coordinates the ending; it does not mean every program works in both cavities.
Air frying is assigned to the lower zone
SharkNinja describes QuartzHeat in the upper oven and 450°F surround airflow in the bottom zone. That lower cavity is the air-frying draw. The page names 12 functions—Bagel, Broil, Bake, Toast, Whole Roast, Reheat, Max Crisp, Pizza, Convection Bake, Air Roast, Keep Warm and Air Fry—but it does not provide a complete mode-by-mode temperature/time table or spell out which cavity accepts every program. Treat the function list as the product's menu, not as a promise that each oven can run every mode. I leave those exact pairings and ranges unresolved rather than extending a related DCT model's guide to this suffix.
There is no manufacturer-stated quart or cubic-foot capacity on the page. Its examples include a 4.5-pound chicken and six slices of toast. Those examples can help you compare the kind of food it is meant to handle, but they are not a measured cavity volume or a guarantee that your roasting pan fits. Measure the cookware you actually use and check the exact owner's guide for rack position and clearance before committing to a countertop location.
The probe adds a useful sensing option, with limits
The exact package includes a Pro Cook Thermometer, and the product page describes the Pro Cook System's Auto Temp Detect as cooking from rare to well done. SharkNinja's separate Double Oven Smart Thermometer page identifies the leave-in tool as integrated and lists DCT871 compatibility. That is a real distinction from a fryer that only offers fixed-time presets. The public material reviewed here does not map the two probe points to the upper or lower cavity, list which functions accept the probe, or promise that every target automatically stops the oven. If thermometer control is your deciding feature, verify those details in the DCT871 guide and use its instructions for the food and placement you intend to cook.
Plan for a large, substantial appliance
SharkNinja lists the DCT871 at 21.42 inches long, 19.76 inches wide and 15.94 inches high, with a weight of 36.24 pounds. This is not a compact basket to tuck away casually. Measure the actual counter, door swing and workspace, and use the owner guide for setup clearances; the product page does not state ventilation distances. It lists 120 volts, 1,800 watts and 15 amps, but not line frequency. If your household needs a specification documented as both 120 V and 60 Hz, the page does not establish that stricter requirement.
The listed box contents are two sheet pans, two wire racks, an Air Fry Basket, a Crumb Tray, the Pro Cook Thermometer, a quick-start guide and a 15-recipe guide. Care is part-specific: Ninja's compatible accessory pages say hand-wash only for the sheet pan and crumb tray, and hand-wash recommended for the air-fry basket. Do not assume that the removable pieces are dishwasher-safe simply because they come out of the oven. Exact instructions for cleaning all surfaces, probe use and operating clearances remain a reason to consult the DCT871 owner guide; its support link did not expose that manual in the sources checked for this assessment.
Who should shortlist the DCT871?
Choose it when you genuinely want two door-front ovens, different settings on two foods, Smart Finish, the included Pro Cook sensing system, and the larger form factor. It can answer the ordinary “oven rather than basket?” choice and a hard requirement for two independently controlled zones with synchronized finishing. It cannot satisfy a requirement for a stated minimum quart capacity, a documented 120 V/60 Hz supply, or a verified zone-specific probe workflow on the public evidence reviewed here. In those cases, unknown is not a yes. If a listed nominal oven volume is essential, compare a model such as the COSORI 13-Quart oven; if you prefer a pull-out drawer, use the basket-size and basket-count choices instead. At the time I checked the DCT871 page it invited visitors to request a back-in-stock alert, so a live model page should not be mistaken for immediate availability.
Sources: SharkNinja's exact DCT871 U.S. product page; its DCT871-compatible integrated thermometer, air-fry basket, crumb tray and sheet pan pages.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 0 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 2 |
| Highest documented setting | 450°F |
| Cooking functions | Twelve function names appear on the exact product page. The page does not map each one to the top or bottom cavity; do not assume that every named mode operates in both. |
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The exact sources reviewed do not establish tray or basket substrate, coating chemistry, or a PFAS-free food-contact claim. |
| See-through cooking window | No |
| Listed power | 1800 W |
| Listed supply | Exact U.S. product page lists 120 volts, 1,800 watts and 15 amps; it does not state frequency. |
| Included integrated food probe | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Ninja Double Oven Pro Cook Countertop Oven and Air Fryer, exact U.S. DCT871 page
- Official DCT871 product-media JSON listing
- Original SharkNinja DCT871 Hero Desktop image
- SharkNinja Double Oven Smart Thermometer compatibility and feature page
- SharkNinja compatible Double Oven air-fry basket, crumb tray and sheet pan care pages
- Official DCT871 Support & FAQs route and DCT800 family page
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.