On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would one large single basket with digital local controls fit your usual batch?
Philips describes a 7.3 L pan (about 7.7 U.S. liquid qt) and a digital dial, but its exact capacity sources conflict on fries load and it is not a two-zone arrangement. The liquid conversion is not a separate Philips quart claim.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the exact documentation confirm both 120 V and 60 Hz for your outlet?
The exact technical sheet lists 2,225 W but does not state voltage or frequency. The U.S. listing and wattage do not fill the missing electrical fields, so this model is not a domestic electrical match.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need two independently controlled baskets that can finish together?
No: the reviewed exact sources show one basket and one cooking area. Foods with different settings must be cooked in separate batches; a synchronized dual basket is a different configuration.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a documented minimum temperature setting of 100 °F or lower essential?
The exact technical sheet starts at 40 °C (104 °F), above that cutoff. The model therefore does not satisfy a hard 100 °F-or-lower low-temperature requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require a manufacturer statement that the food-contact surface is PFAS-free?
The linked family manual describes nonstick surfaces, but the sources reviewed do not state the coating chemistry or make an exact HD9650/90 PFAS-free claim. Unknown does not meet a disclosure requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →The Philips Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/90 is a black single-drawer air fryer with a digital display, central QuickControl dial and a large pan Philips describes as 7.3 litres. Its U.S. product page calls it a 1.4 kg fries model, but the exact product sheet gives two different basket-capacity figures, including 0.8 kg of fries. That discrepancy matters more than the XXL label: check the portion guidance and the food spread you need rather than assuming every large load cooks evenly. There is a second practical limit for U.S. shoppers: Philips lists 2,225 W for this exact suffix but does not state voltage or frequency in the reviewed technical sheet. This is a reference assessment, not a confirmed 120 V / 60 Hz purchase recommendation.

Image source and model notes
One large basket is not two independently timed zones
The configuration is straightforward: one opaque pull-out drawer, one removable basket and one cooking zone. The exact Philips page calls the pan 7.3 L and says the appliance can cook up to 1.4 kg of fries or a whole chicken. Its technical sheet separately lists “0.8 kg of fries” and “1.4 kg” in its capacity fields. The linked HD9650-series manual’s food table permits up to 1,400 g for several fries and wedge preparations, but the instructions then recommend portions up to 1,000 g for an even result. Those are manufacturer instructions, not a test result, and the sources do not reconcile their different capacity wording.
Use the manual’s batch and shake guidance as a better starting point than the maximum headline: it says larger amounts may need shaking two or three times. A large single drawer can handle a broad spread, but it cannot give two foods separate temperatures and timers or make them finish together. If synchronized sides are essential, choose a true dual-basket model such as the COSORI CAF-R901-AUS, not a bigger single cavity.
Dial control, five presets, and a manual mode
Philips specifies a digital interface, five presets and a QuickControl dial that sets time and temperature. The exact product page names frozen fries, meat, fish, whole chicken and chicken drumsticks. The support-linked HD9650-series manual instead describes preset groups for fries/frozen snacks, chicken, meat, fish and baking, plus a separate manual selection. Because its cover names the HD9650 series rather than the /90 suffix, preserve that difference rather than assuming the fifth label is identical in every edition. If a preset matters, confirm the unit’s own panel.
The exact sheet gives 40–200 °C (104–392 °F) and a timer up to 60 minutes. It says instant-on/no preheat, while the manual says preheating is not necessary; an optional preheat mode is available when the time display is set to “--”. Keep Warm is adjustable from 1 to 30 minutes in the manual, and Philips describes a 30-minute maximum. The instructions say it is for holding food after cooking, not reheating. There is no dedicated Dehydrate or Proof function in the exact product list, so don’t infer either from the wide temperature range.
The exact product page’s technical details identify the appliance as non-connected. The recipe-app references in Philips material do not establish phone control of this fryer. If you want remote progress or Smart Chef sensing, compare the distinct Philips HD9867/16R0; it is not the same model or control system.
Fat separation adds a cleanup step
The manual shows a removable mesh bottom and a fat reducer below the basket. Grease can collect under that reducer, so the manual advises letting the pan, basket and reducer cool before handling and removing the reducer with rubber-tipped tongs. It permits washing the pan, basket and reducer in a dishwasher, or hand-washing them with hot soapy water and a non-abrasive sponge. After a fatty cook, remove oily residue from the pan to help prevent smoke on the next use.
Philips describes the pan and basket surfaces as nonstick, and the manual warns against metal utensils and abrasive cleaners. The model-specific sources reviewed here do not identify a precise coating chemistry or make an exact HD9650/90 PFAS-free statement. If that disclosure is an essential filter, unknown is not a match.
Check the suffix and the appliance rating plate
HD9650/90, HD9654/96 and HD9867/16R0 are distinct suffixes; do not transfer specifications between them. The /90 sheet lists 2,225 W, a 7.99 kg weight and 433 × 321 × 315 mm dimensions, but no voltage or frequency. Neither a U.S. product page nor a family manual resolves the exact rating plate. The sheet also says two-year worldwide guarantee while the linked North American family manual says one-year limited warranty; verify the exact package terms. For an existing unit, compare its own type plate and instructions with the outlet before use. The exact-code recall status has not been determined, so this review does not imply recall clearance.
Who should consider it?
For an owner or a shopper whose exact unit is confirmed compatible, it offers one roomy drawer, local digital settings, dishwasher-friendly parts and a fat separator. It is a poor fit when you need two independent cooking schedules, a documented setting at or below 100 °F, a verified PFAS-free statement, or proven U.S. outlet compatibility. The related HD9654/96 is another one-drawer XXL assessment with its own supply and capacity evidence gaps. For a domestic single-basket recommendation, use the HD9867/16R0 only if its Smart Chef controls and documented outlet rating meet your needs; for a smaller local-control option, the COSORI TurboBlaze KUS has separately documented U.S. electrical values and a lower 90 °F setting. Those alternatives answer different constraints; none repairs HD9650/90’s missing supply specification.
Manufacturer sources: Philips HD9650/90 product page, its exact support profile, the linked HD9650-series user manual, and Philips’s HD9650/90 technical sheet.
Key details at a glance
| Pull-out basket units | 1 |
|---|---|
| Maximum independent cooking zones | 1 |
| Combined nominal capacity | 7.7 qt |
| Connected app controls | No |
| Lowest documented setting | 104°F |
| Highest documented setting | 392°F |
More specifications and setup details
| Cooking functions | Philips’s exact product page describes fry, bake, grill, roast and reheat uses; the exact sheet lists Keep Warm. There is one cooking chamber and no documented steam, dehydration, proofing or independent second zone. |
|---|---|
| Basket and crisper-plate material | The linked manual describes nonstick pan, basket and fat-reducer surfaces, but the reviewed exact sources do not identify coating chemistry or provide an exact HD9650/90 PFAS-free statement. |
| See-through cooking window | No |
| Dishwasher-safe pan or basket | Yes |
| Listed power | 2225 W |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Philips U.S. latest Airfryer directory, page 3; exact HD9650/90 row
- Philips U.S. Premium Airfryer XXL HD9650/90 product page
- Philips U.S. support profile for exact HD9650/90 Premium Airfryer XXL
- Philips exact-model HD9650/90 technical sheet, issue 2022-06-21
- Philips Premium Airfryer XXL manual linked from exact HD9650/90 support
- Philips Premium Airfryer XXL quick-start guide linked from exact HD9650/90 support
- Philips gallery image associated with exact HD9650/90 product page
- Philips U.S. recall-program index reused for exact-code lookup
- U.S. CPSC Philips manufacturer listing reused for exact-code lookup
Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.
Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.