Model assessment · Philips

Philips Viva Collection Airfryer HD9220/66 review

An earlier, discontinued U.S.-listed Philips Viva single-basket air fryer with an 0.8 kg basket, analogue controls and a 30-minute timer.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Philips exact sheet says Red/Black on its overview and Red in the technical table; image shows red body with dark top and handle. Keep the full slash code; do not transfer its package, finish or supply values from a neighboring suffix.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Philips Viva Collection HD9220/66 in red and black, one pull-out basket and manual controls
The exact Philips HD9220/66 gallery image shows a red-and-black single-basket model. The maker does not disclose whether this studio asset is a photograph or rendering. Philips U.S. — exact product page
A useful fit for

A compact, one-basket routine that favors mechanical controls and a published 110 V / 50–60 Hz rating over a digital display, long timer or independent zones; include earlier products explicitly.

The main tradeoff

Philips marks it discontinued. The exact sheet lists 110 V rather than 120 V, and says 0.8 kg by mass rather than a quart capacity or serving count. Coating chemistry, PFAS statement, present parts, current warranty, exact recall status and a particular used unit’s type plate remain unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

How do you want to set time and temperature?

The exact HD9220/66 sheet describes adjustable time and temperature; the Philips image shows physical controls. It is an earlier single-zone configuration.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are two independent cooking zones essential?

The exact sheet and product page identify one basket; two zones are not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the manufacturer approve dishwasher care for the pan or basket?

Philips labels the removable nonstick parts dishwasher-safe on the exact model sheet.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the exact documentation state both 120 V and 60 Hz?

Philips lists 110 V and 50/60 Hz; the strict 120 V requirement is not met.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Philips Viva Collection HD9220/66 is a discontinued U.S.-listed one-basket fryer with two physical time-and-temperature controls and a manufacturer-listed 0.8 kg basket. Its exact Philips sheet identifies a red-and-black finish, a timer to 30 minutes and a 110 V / 50–60 Hz, 1,425 W supply. This review is most useful when identifying a specific existing unit or comparing a used listing; it is not evidence of a current new-product offer or of the rating plate on an individual appliance.

A compact load with one shared cooking plan

Philips calls the basket capacity 800 g. That is a mass figure, not a quart measurement and not a promise that every recipe will cook well at the full amount. The appliance has one pull-out basket and one heat-and-time plan: ingredients share the same temperature and timer. A physical rack, even where bought separately, would not create another thermostat or a second finish schedule. If your usual dinner needs fish and fries cooked at different temperatures at the same time, this small Viva does not solve that problem. Sequential batches or two independently controlled zones are the practical alternatives.

The size is easier to place than an oven-style air fryer, but the tradeoff is batch planning. The sheet documents a maximum basket mass only; it does not give a usable quart capacity or guarantee a number of servings. Think about the footprint and the amount you normally cook at once, and leave space for hot air to move around food instead of turning a nominal capacity into a pile-it-full target. Philips describes the Rapid Air design for air frying, baking, grilling and roasting, so the basket can handle several cooking styles without becoming a multi-zone machine.

Physical controls make the routine visible

The exact specification and product image show local mechanical controls rather than a digital menu or phone connection. Set time and temperature on the appliance, then check food as the batch progresses. Philips lists a timer of up to 30 minutes, an automatic shutoff and a ready sound. Longer recipes require a check and a second setting rather than one uninterrupted cycle. The manufacturer sheet gives a top setting of 200°C, commonly rounded to about 390°F in Philips material. There are no documented saved programs, remote progress controls, remote settings or remote start for this suffix.

That simplicity can be welcome if you prefer a knob and a direct adjustment instead of navigating presets. It is limiting if you need a precise digital display, a dedicated dehydration cycle or a long timed program. The listed cooking functions are air fry, bake, grill and roast; the words describe different uses of the same single-cavity arrangement. They do not represent separate cooking zones.

Care is documented; coating chemistry is not

The exact Philips sheet describes a removable nonstick-coated drawer and food basket and labels the removable parts dishwasher-safe. Philips lists the appliance body as plastic. That is enough to answer a basic clean-up question, but not a material-composition question: the document does not name the coating chemistry or say that the food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free. If you require that statement, the HD9220/66 does not meet the requirement based on the available model documentation. Do not treat an unknown as a positive material feature.

Philips' page-linked Viva manual provides basic use and care guidance for the family, including cooking in the basket, unplugging and cooling before cleaning, and avoiding abrasive treatment of nonstick parts. Its cover is family-level rather than a printed confirmation of every slash suffix. For this exact model, the specification sheet is the firmer source for its dimensions, electrical values, timer and dishwasher note; it does not resolve the coating material or current replacement-part availability.

Exact electrical values and a finish worth checking

The exact HD9220/66 specification lists 110 V, 50/60 Hz and 1,425 W. Frequency is stated, but 120 V is not the published voltage. A requirement that Philips documentation explicitly show both 120 V and 60 Hz should therefore exclude this model, even though it is an older U.S.-listed product. No physical label from a particular unit was inspected; compare the actual nameplate before operating any secondhand appliance.

Philips' sheet calls the finish Red/Black on its overview and Red in its technical table. The archived gallery view shows a red main body and black top/handle details, which is consistent with the mixed label. The product image is an official Philips gallery asset; Philips does not state whether it is a photograph or a rendering. Philips marks the exact model discontinued. Price, current stock, seller condition, present warranty and exact-suffix recall status are not established by the archived listing.

Where a different Philips model changes the choice

The HD9220/96 is another 0.8 kg analogue Viva, but its sheet conflicts on its color label and its page-linked manual supports a more specific operating description. The HD9226/23 keeps the one-zone analogue arrangement and adds a double-layer accessory in its exact package, useful when an included rack matters but not a substitute for a second zone. For a digital display and a longer 60-minute timer, Philips' HD9230/26 is a different exact suffix; check its own conflicting electrical documentation rather than transferring the 110 V value from the HD9220/66. If separate foods need distinct settings, compare a dual-basket model such as the COSORI Dual Basket instead.

Philips Viva Collection HD9220/66 one-basket air fryer, red body with black upper trim and physical controls
Philips gallery image from the exact HD9220/66 product page, archived unchanged. It shows one red-and-black pull-out-basket appliance with local controls; the manufacturer does not identify photo-versus-render status.

Key details at a glance

Pull-out basket units1
Maximum independent cooking zones1
Lowest documented setting180°F
Highest documented setting390°F
Cooking functionsThe exact model sheet lists air fry, bake, grill and roast uses within the same basket and heating plan; it does not document Dehydrate.
Basket and crisper-plate materialPhilips identifies nonstick-coated removable parts but does not name the coating chemistry or state that the exact food-contact surfaces are PFAS-free.
Exact configuration notePhilips exact sheet says Red/Black on its overview and Red in the technical table; image shows red body with dark top and handle.
See-through cooking windowNo
Dishwasher-safe pan or basketYes
Listed power1425 W
Listed supply110 V / 50/60 Hz

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Read the exact model before choosing a cooking routine.

Separate basket layout, actual controls and cleanup claims from the name on the box.